TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,155 Reviews & Articles | 39,554 News Posts

Newer Technology Power2U (USB Wall Power) Review - Newer Tech Power2U

Because looking for a charger can be a pain in the backside. Newer Technology come to the rescue with its USB wall power outlet kit.

| Powerline in Networking | Posted: Jun 1, 2012 10:45 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Newer Technology

Newer Tech Power2U

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4741_07_newer_technology_power2u_usb_wall_power_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the actual outlet. You get two standard three prong plugs. Off to each side is where the USB plugs are. Aside from the two USB doors the outlet looks like a regular outlet.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4741_08_newer_technology_power2u_usb_wall_power_review.jpg

 

Here is the secret to the Newer Tech Power2U. This is an image of the back side of the face plate. In the middle we see the doors to the USB power ports. When the doors open they activate a micro switch that turns the power on the USB port.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4741_09_newer_technology_power2u_usb_wall_power_review.jpg

 

The straight on shot shows the micro switches on each side for the USB ports.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4741_10_newer_technology_power2u_usb_wall_power_review.jpg

 

We call them micro switches because the actuation motion isn't very long, just a few millimeters.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4741_11_newer_technology_power2u_usb_wall_power_review.jpg

 

The unit itself gives you clues while you go through the install process. If you forget that the white wires go to the silver screws there is a handy 'W' right next to screw.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4741_12_newer_technology_power2u_usb_wall_power_review.jpg

 

The black wires go to the brass screws.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4741_13_newer_technology_power2u_usb_wall_power_review.jpg

 

Ground goes to the green screw on the bottom.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Networking content at our Networking reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases