TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,908 Reviews & Articles | 38,049 News Posts

Data Memory Systems Celerity 6G Plus 120GB Solid State Drive Review - DMS Celerity 6G Plus 120GB SSD

It's like the full size model, only thinner and a little faster. Check out our first SSD review from DMS.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: May 14, 2012 4:11 am
TweakTown Rating: 83%      Manufacturer: Data Memory Systems

DMS Celerity 6G Plus 120GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4701_03_data_memory_systems_celerity_6g_plus_120gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

Data Memory Systems certainly takes the minimalist thing seriously as you can see here. With most manufactures we'd call this an OEM package, but for the Celerity this is all you get.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4701_04_data_memory_systems_celerity_6g_plus_120gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

The drive is safe and secure and the box our drive shipped in was quite strong.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4701_05_data_memory_systems_celerity_6g_plus_120gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the drive itself. We're a sucker for red; you really can't go wrong with it.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4701_06_data_memory_systems_celerity_6g_plus_120gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

The label on the back gives us quite a bit of info. The capacity size is the focus point, but we're more interested in the firmware at this time. Our sample shipped with firmware 3.3.4. Most of the drives we've tested lately use 3.2 or what we believe is 5.2. The 5.2 drives seem to have an issue with TRIM, but from the small number of 3.3.4 drives we've tested, the 3.3.4 seems to be the best SandForce firmware to date.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4701_07_data_memory_systems_celerity_6g_plus_120gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

DMS positioned all of the mounting points where they should be so you won't have an issue installing this drive in your notebook or in your desktop with a bracket adapter (not included).

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4701_08_data_memory_systems_celerity_6g_plus_120gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

The SATA power and data ports are where they should be.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4701_09_data_memory_systems_celerity_6g_plus_120gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

25nm synchronous flash from Micron is used, sixteen total with eight on each side. Here we also see the SandForce SF-2281 controller.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4701_10_data_memory_systems_celerity_6g_plus_120gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

We should point out that DMS's SSDs are assembled in the USA!

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases