TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,249 Reviews & Articles | 40,763 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Rockstar rumored to announce Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas 2 soon

Corsair Obsidian 550D Mid-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Final Product

Not since the 800D have I seen an Obsidian chassis that offers as much as what the 550D from Corsair delivers. Come see why I think this is the new "Must-Have" in mid-tower cases.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 8, 2012 6:33 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Corsair

The Build and Final Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4700_31_corsair_obsidian_550d_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The one hang-up I had with the build was the removal of the front bezel that was until I realize you have to pull two screws from the feet to get the panel off. Now I can remove the panel for the ODD and I notice there are sound proofing and a filter here as well.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4700_32_corsair_obsidian_550d_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the ODD in place it doesn't really matter how it looks unless you want to run it without the aluminum panel, but why do that when it works so conveniently, as it is and it covers the mess we don't need to see, like the front of this drive.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4700_33_corsair_obsidian_550d_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Inside this mid-tower, even with my new much larger video card, there is still plenty of room to add more to this build. To be honest the build seemed to go by in no time at all and I have to say that is because of how well this chassis is thought out - it just sort of happens in front of your eyes.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4700_34_corsair_obsidian_550d_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The rear of the 550D fills out nicely with the addition of the I/O cover, video card and PSU, that all lined up well and went into place with little effort or forcing.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4700_35_corsair_obsidian_550d_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Now you can see how setting the motherboard deeper into the tray is good for adding space on the other side, there is nothing wrong with it back here. The deeper section to the left takes the natural swag of the cables around the bend and where they need to be.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4700_36_corsair_obsidian_550d_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Just because you can, I figured I would show the chassis with the front panel off, it's almost two cases in one.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4700_37_corsair_obsidian_550d_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Even with all the wiring running in one spot, you can see there is no deflection in the panel as it is again locked closed.

 

TweakTown image content/4/7/4700_38_corsair_obsidian_550d_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

All powered up the 500D looks much the same as it did when we saw it right out of the box. The major change besides the power cord is that the power button is now illuminated and there was an occasional flicker of the white HDD activity light. Both of which aren't all that bright so it makes for a good solution for those who have lighting woes, such as in a bedroom or even as a HTPC solution.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases