TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,918 Reviews & Articles | 38,134 News Posts

Phanteks PH-TC14CS CPU Cooler Review - Installation and Finished Product

Phanteks delivers a C-style cooler to the lab for testing. Take a look at what the PH-TC14CS brings to CPU cooling.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 9, 2012 7:43 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: Phanteks

Installation and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4683_23_phanteks_ph_tc14cs_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The hardware was simple enough to get onto the Intel motherboard, but I find it strange that the thumbscrews are Phillips head and I got a hex wrench in the hardware. It would seem to me if these were hex head too, things would work without me going to the toolbox for extra tooling.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4683_24_phanteks_ph_tc14cs_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Part of the SoliSku hardware that differs from the SecuFirm2 hardware is that this allows the plate to go on one of two ways, meaning that the cut outs for the socket hardware is on two sides rather than just one.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4683_25_phanteks_ph_tc14cs_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

If you want to run this cooler with both fans on it, you are going to have to be sure to have memory that will accommodate all the room this cooler is going to be using to do its job.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4683_26_phanteks_ph_tc14cs_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Once I set in the Ripjaws I stripped the spreaders off of, there were no longer any memory clearance issue to discuss. In fact, there is plenty of room to even be able to add or remove them with the cooler still in place.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4683_27_phanteks_ph_tc14cs_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The last angle didn't really do the total height of the cooler or the amount of room left above the memory any justice. From the side you can see there is plenty of room to work with the RAM and that this C-style cooler is as big as most tower coolers.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4683_28_phanteks_ph_tc14cs_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Looking at it from the top, you still have room to get the 8-pin EPS plugged in, it just happens to be behind the fans wires currently. The POH-TC14CS does get close to the first PCI-e slot, but still allows for the card to be installed without actually hitting the fans. You can also move the fans up a bit so that it gives more room there if needed.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4683_29_phanteks_ph_tc14cs_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Here is one last image of the PH-TC14CS so you have sort of the "glamour shot" of this cooler to keep fresh in your mind as we go through the thermal and audio testing.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases