TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,214 Reviews & Articles | 40,225 News Posts

RunCore Pro V MAX 240GB Solid State Drive Review - RunCore Pro V MAX 240GB SSD

RunCore reaches for IMFT synchronous flash to power the new Pro V SandForce 2281 SSD controlled model.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: May 3, 2012 3:48 pm
TweakTown Rating: 87%Manufacturer: RunCore

RunCore Pro V MAX 240GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4681_03_runcore_pro_v_max_240gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

As we stated previously, our MAX sample arrived like an OEM drive this time. We wanted a fresh, untouched sample straight from the line and not a round-robin review drive and that is what we received. This way the flash is still fresh and we can get the drive to steady state in the same manner we do most of our review samples. This is important because the last test run by another reviewer can affect our results, an issue we ran into with the Pro V review a few months back.

 

The retail model of the Pro V MAX includes a retail box, SATA cable, documentation, desktop adapter bracket and the drive that you'll see here today.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4681_04_runcore_pro_v_max_240gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the RunCore Pro V MAX. RunCore has used this case before on other models. So, the outside doesn't really have anything new (other than the label on the other side). The housing is built from aluminum, all the way around.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4681_05_runcore_pro_v_max_240gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

The specific model number for the 240GB Pro V MAX is RCP-V-T2524-MCS. Given that RunCore has several products listed under the Pro V you will want to pay close attention to the model number when placing your order.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4681_06_runcore_pro_v_max_240gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

As mentioned previously, the MAX uses a 9.5mm z-height. This is the typical notebook standard for SATA drives these days. Some new Ultrabooks now use 7mm height drives and RunCore has SSD for that specification.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4681_07_runcore_pro_v_max_240gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

All of the mounting points are located where they should be so you won't run into any issue with the Pro V MAX fitting in your notebook or desktop. In a desktop installation you can use the included desktop adapter bracket that will allow the drive to fit in a standard 3.5" form factor bay.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4681_08_runcore_pro_v_max_240gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

Inside we found Intel 25nm synchronous flash (CCME3), the same as several ultra-high performance drives these days.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4681_09_runcore_pro_v_max_240gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

There are sixteen flash chips, eight on each side.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases