TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,670 Reviews & Articles | 36,048 News Posts

ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe (Intel Z77) Motherboard Review - ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe Motherboard

We look at our first Intel Z77 Express based motherboard post Ivy Bridge launch. Let's check out the ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe.

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Apr 24, 2012 12:45 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: ASUS

ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe Motherboard

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4674_09_asus_p8z77_v_deluxe_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking at the board the overall design of it is very similar to previous Deluxe based motherboards we've seen from ASUS. I've never been a huge fan of the light blue color scheme that ASUS has opted for, but with more dark blue present on the boards these days and the black PCB, the P8Z77-V Deluxe is a really good looking board.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4674_10_asus_p8z77_v_deluxe_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving in closer to the board we've got four PCIe x1 slots and four PCIe x16 slots. The further right black slots runs at x4 while the white runs at x8. The top most blue slot runs at x16 if the white is unoccupied. If the white is occupied for SLI or CrossFire, both slots will run at x8.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4674_11_asus_p8z77_v_deluxe_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving across the bottom of the board we've got an EPU switch on the left followed up with the power and reset buttons. You can see the clear CMOS header, two USB 2.0 headers, debug LED and the front panel header on the far right.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4674_12_asus_p8z77_v_deluxe_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Turning the corner you can see we've got a total of eight SATA ports present. The four light blue ports clumped together run off the Intel Z77 chipset and are SATA II while the two grey / white ports next to it run off the same Z77 chip, but are SATA III. As for the last two dark blue ones they're also SATA III and run off the Marvell 9128 controller.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4674_13_asus_p8z77_v_deluxe_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Starting to head north you can see four DIMM slots here that support up to 32GB of DDR3 at speeds up to 2800MHz DDR via overclocking. Around here we've also got the main 24-pin ATX power connector along with the USB 3.0 header on the left and on the right we've got the MemOK button and TPU switch.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4674_14_asus_p8z77_v_deluxe_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4674_15_asus_p8z77_v_deluxe_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving around the top of the board you can see the 8-pin CPU power connector and stepping back a bit we get a good look at the CPU area which like most boards these days looks pretty clean. We can also see the heatsink setup here which in typical ASUS fashion is excellent quality.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4674_16_asus_p8z77_v_deluxe_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Finishing up with the I/O side of things we've got four USB 2.0 ports to start off on the left. Next to that we've got two USB 3.0 ports running natively off the Z77 chipset and two eSATA 6Gbps ports running off the ASMedia controller. Continuing to work our way across we've got a HDMI and DisplayPort alongside an optical out.

 

On the networking front we've got two gigabit LAN ports - one runs off the Intel 82579V controller while the other runs off the Realtek 8111F controller. Below each network port is two USB 3.0 ports running off the ASMedia controller and between all this we've got the BIOS Flashback button. Finally we finish off with six auxiliary connectors which run off the Realtek ALC898 HD codec.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below