TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,912 Reviews & Articles | 38,077 News Posts

ROCCAT Isku Illuminated Gaming Keyboard Review - ROCCAT Isku Illuminated Gaming Keyboard

ROCCAT delivers the Isku illuminated gaming keyboard with EasyShift[+] and now we get to test ROCAT Talk as well.

| Keyboards in Peripherals | Posted: Apr 12, 2012 8:08 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: ROCCAT

ROCCAT Isku Illuminated Gaming Keyboard

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4646_06_roccat_isku_illuminated_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Now you can see where the angular comment came from in my description. As I mentioned it sort of moves your eyes around to most of the keyboards features just as far as the sub-sections or groupings as the brutish angles seem to caress each section.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4646_08_roccat_isku_illuminated_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

At the top on the left side there are the five profile indicators LEDs so you know at a glance what profile you are running currently. When you press the macro record button seen to the right, the indicator to its left will light to let you know it is time to perform the operations to set that macro to a key on the Isku.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4646_09_roccat_isku_illuminated_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

For those of you who aren't into a ton of macros, ROCCAT has assigned a few for you on the left denoted as M1 through M5. These can also be reset to do something else, but is your go-to basic five for easier command of the PC.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4646_10_roccat_isku_illuminated_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The multimedia keys do not light up, but to make up for it, it comes with the basics of play, pause, mute and all that jazz, but offers up a home page key and a "computer" key to work bring up that folder in Windows.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4646_11_roccat_isku_illuminated_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Under the space bar, they figured your thumb can't be making you jump all the time, so they added three buttons here that by default will change though the various profiles with T1 and T3 while T2 brings up the software. In the software these three can also be set to do whatever you think they are suited best for.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4646_12_roccat_isku_illuminated_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The LED brightness switch is a bit out of focus while much more visible is the logo for the ROCCAT Talk feature I have been discussing so much lately. Under the logo is a section that will illuminate to denote the pressing of the EasyShift[+]/CAPS Lock key and the number and scroll locks as well.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4646_13_roccat_isku_illuminated_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Even under the keyboard they were thinking about their users and offering the coolest of what is available. Inside of the six rubber pads of various sizes and the rubber padded, flip out feet in the back, there are multiple trails designed to run your mouse through to keep the desktop area clutter free for gaming with less distractions.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4646_14_roccat_isku_illuminated_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

As with just about all keyboard, the back feet that flip out offer a more ergonomically angle surface to keep long term injury at bay and offers half an inch of rise to the back of the Isku.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4646_15_roccat_isku_illuminated_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Just like what we saw with the Kone[+], the Isku comes with two meters of plastic coated USB cable with a contoured and marked connection on the end, again making it easy to find on the I/O of the motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4646_16_roccat_isku_illuminated_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

There are five PCBs here controlling things with a few tiny connections to remove the USB cable and a power supply wire on the left. I was going to go deeper into the tear down, but I thought it best not to damage it before I got to use it, so at this point I threw in the towel.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4646_17_roccat_isku_illuminated_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Just plugging in the keyboard brings the Isku into its illuminated form with blue LED lighting most of the keys. You can go ahead and use it as-is, but for full functionality you need to install the software from the disc, or better yet, go to ROCCAT and make sure you have the latest drivers and firmware.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases