TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,919 Reviews & Articles | 38,136 News Posts

FSP Aurum Pro Gold 1200-watt Power Supply Review - Inside the Box

FSP revamps the Aurum PSU and adds modular cabling. The same great performance is kept, but some degree of viability is lost.

| Other PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Apr 6, 2012 5:36 am
TweakTown Rating: 89%      Manufacturer: FSP Group USA

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4642_09_fsp_aurum_pro_gold_1200_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

FSP does a great job of packing the unit as it is padded on all sides.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4642_10_fsp_aurum_pro_gold_1200_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The I/O specification label can be found on the top of the unit.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4642_11_fsp_aurum_pro_gold_1200_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The FSP logo can be found on one side of the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4642_12_fsp_aurum_pro_gold_1200_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The other side also displays the FSP logo. Notice that both sides have a little additional venting.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4642_13_fsp_aurum_pro_gold_1200_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Things are slightly different than what we are used to seeing back here. Other than FSP's "Arrow Dynamic" design and the AC on/off rocker switch, we also have a heavy duty C20 inlet instead of the standard C14 that we usually see with power supplies.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4642_14_fsp_aurum_pro_gold_1200_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Towards the front, we find the nine modular connectors available. Unfortunately the fourth PCI-E cable shares the same output as the second EPS12V connector. This is something you need to be very aware of when considering this power supply for your system.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4642_15_fsp_aurum_pro_gold_1200_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Moving to the bottom we find the 135mm fan that cools the AU-1200PRO.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4642_16_fsp_aurum_pro_gold_1200_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Eight modular cables are included with the power supply as well as two cables meant only for fans.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4642_17_fsp_aurum_pro_gold_1200_watt_power_supply_review.jpg

 

If you look closely, you'll notice that the cables are sleeved to be flat instead of round. This will help when routing behind the motherboard and helps provide a really clean look. They are also sleeved different than the natively wired cables, as those use the standard mesh sleeving.

 

Also included with the AU-1200PRO are four thumbscrews for mounting the unit, an AC input cord, several Velcro cable ties, a case badge and the user manual.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases