TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,206 Reviews & Articles | 40,141 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will have 'just for PC' features, including a video editor

Noctua NF-F12 PWM Focused Flow Cooling Fan Review - Noctua NF-F12 PWM

Noctua's new NF-F12 PWM Focused Flow fans are the bomb. Read why you want one right here.

| Cooling Fans in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 30, 2012 11:44 am
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: Noctua

Noctua NF-F12 PWM "Focused Flow" Fans

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4635_11_noctua_nf_f12_pwm_focused_flow_cooling_fan_review.jpg

 

At first glance you don't quite absorb all that went into making the NF-F12 PWM fans, but I will give it my best attempt in the following images to bring forth the features and briefly explain what it does.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4635_12_noctua_nf_f12_pwm_focused_flow_cooling_fan_review.jpg

 

In this image I want to address the stepped down corners of the frame on this fan. These are used to ruffle the air as it comes into contact with the outer edge of the fan blades as it enters the fan. These make it so the air passed over and gets picked up by the fans rather than passively sliding through the typical frame.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4635_13_noctua_nf_f12_pwm_focused_flow_cooling_fan_review.jpg

 

Each corner, including both sides of the fan, so eight in total, are these rubber anti-vibration pads. They can be simply removed by pulling them out of the frame, but really why would you want this fan to rub and cause noise on something?

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4635_14_noctua_nf_f12_pwm_focused_flow_cooling_fan_review.jpg

 

After the air gets forced through the Heptaperf impeller the air is then addressed by these eleven stators. Noctua found in the designing that even spacing would deliver more noise, so these are slightly offset in their angles to help keep noise down yet forcing the air through whatever this fan is cooling.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4635_15_noctua_nf_f12_pwm_focused_flow_cooling_fan_review.jpg

 

Even with the angles considered, Noctua found a need to notch the stators this time versus the notches we got used to seeing in the fan blades.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4635_16_noctua_nf_f12_pwm_focused_flow_cooling_fan_review.jpg

 

The sticker on the back of the fan is actually a thin metal plaque that has been stuck on there. I removed it to see what was underneath of it and I was greeted by the brass outer covering of the SSO2 bearing. Being a sealed system, there will be no maintenance required from the end user.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4635_17_noctua_nf_f12_pwm_focused_flow_cooling_fan_review.jpg

 

It was hard to find a good angle to show off the microstructures that are inside of the frame to again disturb the air passing near it to allow the fan blades to scoop it up and force every bit of the flow possible through this fan. Seriously no surface was left untouched in this design.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4635_18_noctua_nf_f12_pwm_focused_flow_cooling_fan_review.jpg

 

From the fans frame to the 4-pin connector, there is 7.5 inches of black braided cable to get this fan plugged into the appropriate motherboard header. If you plan to install more than one of these on a cooler like I will be doing, Noctua offers all the wiring you will need to accomplish that as well.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases