TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,925 Reviews & Articles | 38,176 News Posts

Corsair Vengeance K90 Performance MMO Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review - Corsair Vengeance K90 Continued

Could this be the best gaming keyboard for 2012? Bold claim considering it's March. Let's see!

| Keyboards in Peripherals | Posted: Mar 28, 2012 10:17 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%      Manufacturer: Corsair

Corsair Vengeance K90 Continued

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4629_17_corsair_vengeance_k90_performance_mmo_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Now I flipped the K90 on its face to show what goes on under the keyboard. On the back corners you get flip out feet to add an additional half an inch of height to the back of the K90 to allow you to get a more ergonomically angled keyboard for pain free usage.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4629_18_corsair_vengeance_k90_performance_mmo_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Near the front on both the left and right sides you see this. There is a skinny, but longer rubber pad to keep the K90 from sliding around, but also notice the place at the right of the image that allows you to clip in the wrist rest.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4629_19_corsair_vengeance_k90_performance_mmo_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Along with the mounting points I just pointed out in the last image, there is a brass insert on the side to allow for a thumbscrew to be used to securely mount the rest, something not offered on the Logitech G110 I had with a rest. This will keep the rest secure and hopefully it won't flop around like my G110 did.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4629_20_corsair_vengeance_k90_performance_mmo_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

This is a look at the back of the wrist rest. As you can see there is in fact a thumbscrew that will screw into the keyboard. Keep in mind there is a pair of these. Along with the clips that go into the front of the keyboard, this mounting system is top notch.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4629_21_corsair_vengeance_k90_performance_mmo_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Taking a step back to look at the entire rest, you can see how the clips and screws match the bottom of the keyboard for a simple and quick installation process. I do like that the rest also has additional anti-skid pads so that the textured coating on the rest isn't worn off as it wraps the edges of the rest.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4629_22_corsair_vengeance_k90_performance_mmo_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

As I mentioned, the K90 offers a pass through USB port on the back of the keyboard and here it is. This allows you to add say a mouse here like the M90 or M60, or as I do, plug in my Vengeance 1100s. This port is native USB 2.0 and is backwards compatible.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4629_23_corsair_vengeance_k90_performance_mmo_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Now that we have almost everything covered, I thought an image of the K90 with the textured wrist rest was in order!

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4629_24_corsair_vengeance_k90_performance_mmo_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Powering up the K90 and setting the light switch to its 100% setting, you can see the LEDs under each key are super bright and will do a great job of getting you through any late night gaming sessions in complete darkness.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4629_25_corsair_vengeance_k90_performance_mmo_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Again taking a step back to soak it all in, you can now see what I meant about what keys are lit and which are not. From the tilde key to the backspace on down is illuminated on the left, the arrows in the middle and the number pad all get the blue LED treatment.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases