TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,144 Reviews & Articles | 39,494 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Corsair Vengeance K90 Performance MMO Mechanical Gaming Keyboard Review - Corsair Vengeance K90

Could this be the best gaming keyboard for 2012? Bold claim considering it's March. Let's see!

| Keyboards in Peripherals | Posted: Mar 28, 2012 10:17 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Corsair

Corsair Vengeance K90

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4629_09_corsair_vengeance_k90_performance_mmo_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

I wanted to start off with an image of the K90 keyboard along with the included textured wrist rest. As of this moment I will just let you absorb this because I am about to get into fine detail with each section.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4629_10_corsair_vengeance_k90_performance_mmo_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

To power the K90 Corsair uses one of the thickest cables I have seen on a keyboard. This braided cable ends up splitting into these two blue USB 2.0 connectors. One of which powers the keyboard and LEDs while the other is there to work with the pass through USB 2.0 port located near the cable in the back of the K90.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4629_11_corsair_vengeance_k90_performance_mmo_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The G-keys are something I am very used to with my many years of using Logitech keyboards. Here Corsair provides 18 keys to program macros keeping this offering at the top of the food chain as far as the amount of macro possibilities.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4629_12_corsair_vengeance_k90_performance_mmo_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

To set the macro, you can record on the fly with the MR key on the left or you can go through the software. Along with the eighteen G-keys, you also have the M1, M2 and M3 keys that allow you to keep three profiles in use at any time.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4629_13_corsair_vengeance_k90_performance_mmo_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The main section of the keyboard offers the standard US layout and later all of these keys, minus the function keys, will all be illuminated and the background flooded by blue LED lighting.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4629_14_corsair_vengeance_k90_performance_mmo_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

At the top right corner of the K90 there is a grouping of buttons that obviously offer multi-media controls, but there is also a pair to the left that aren't usually found on a keyboard here. The one on the left is for the LED light level control and the one to the right is a windows lock out key. This allows you to accidentally hit keys that would otherwise put you back to desktop or otherwise cause issues in your gameplay.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4629_15_corsair_vengeance_k90_performance_mmo_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Finishing out the rest of the keys on the K90 you can see you get a full number pad and the arrow keys at the bottom. Again all of these keys, minus the nine at the top left, will also illuminate with LED light.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4629_16_corsair_vengeance_k90_performance_mmo_mechanical_gaming_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Here is the most important part of the K90 keyboard, the Cherry MX Red switches. With these, the keys actually press directly on the activation plunger, so the feel looses that "give way" feel of rubber domes in exchange for a fully smooth press of the key until it bottoms out.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases