TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,677 Reviews & Articles | 36,081 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

MSI Big Bang XPower II (Intel X79) Motherboard Review - BIOS

We get around to testing the Big Bang XPower II motherboard from MSI and see if it's something you'll want for your next system.

| Socket LGA 2011 in Motherboards | Posted: Mar 14, 2012 6:08 am
TweakTown Rating: 96%      Manufacturer: MSI

BIOS

 

Moving away from the board itself and into the BIOS you can see a fairly familiar setup thanks to the Click BIOS II integration which we've became quite a fan off. It's been a lot nicer to use than the original Click BIOS we saw introduced last year.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4609_20_msi_big_bang_xpower_ii_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4609_21_msi_big_bang_xpower_ii_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4609_22_msi_big_bang_xpower_ii_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4609_23_msi_big_bang_xpower_ii_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4609_24_msi_big_bang_xpower_ii_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4609_25_msi_big_bang_xpower_ii_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4609_26_msi_big_bang_xpower_ii_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

In typical fashion, if you're heading into the BIOS you'll probably want to be in the OC area and if you've used Click BIOS II in the past you shouldn't have any troubles here.

 

Unlike the original X79 board we looked at from MSI at the launch of the Sandy Bridge-E platform, this one worked a lot nicer with everything getting up and running straight away when it came to overclocking. We'll talk about that a little more in just a moment, though.

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4609_27_msi_big_bang_xpower_ii_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4609_28_msi_big_bang_xpower_ii_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/6/4609_29_msi_big_bang_xpower_ii_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

Moving through the rest of the BIOS you can see everything is fairly self-explanatory so let's get into the overclocking side of things before we cover the performance of the board.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below