TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,201 Reviews & Articles | 40,022 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Samsung wants the US government to block GeForce GPU shipments

SanDisk Extreme 240GB SSD with 24nm Toggle Mode Flash Review - SanDisk Extreme 240GB SSD

We've seen prototype SandForce drives on display with 24nm Toggle Mode flash for nearly a year, but SanDisk is the first partner to launch such a product.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Feb 28, 2012 9:15 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: SanDisk

Editor Note: After this article was published we learned that TRIM was not working on our test system at the time the Extreme 240GB was tested. A follow up article has been published with accurate benchmarks. Please read it here.

 

SanDisk Extreme 240GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4578_06_sandisk_extreme_240gb_ssd_with_24nm_toggle_mode_flash_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the new SanDisk Extreme. There isn't a lot of info on the front of the drive other than the SanDisk logo.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4578_07_sandisk_extreme_240gb_ssd_with_24nm_toggle_mode_flash_review.jpg

 

The back of the drive has a wealth of information on it. Our sample drive was manufactured just 19 days before our sample arrived. The model number, SDSSDX-240G-G25 and serial number are both listed here. The serial number shown ends in 2349 so it is a safe bet that SanDisk is pumping these drives out at a fast pace.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4578_08_sandisk_extreme_240gb_ssd_with_24nm_toggle_mode_flash_review.jpg

 

The standard mounting points are on the side of the drive. This is a 9mm height drive so it will fit in most notebooks without issue. There are a growing number of ultrabooks that call for a 7mm height and this won't fit in this small but growing market.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4578_09_sandisk_extreme_240gb_ssd_with_24nm_toggle_mode_flash_review.jpg

 

The SATA power and data ports are offset to the left side as they should be.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4578_10_sandisk_extreme_240gb_ssd_with_24nm_toggle_mode_flash_review.jpg

 

Finally the moment we've been waiting for, 24nm goodness. The SanDisk Extreme uses the LSI SandForce SF-2281 flash storage processor. This is a term we are hearing pretty often these days instead of controller.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4578_11_sandisk_extreme_240gb_ssd_with_24nm_toggle_mode_flash_review.jpg

 

The Extreme uses eight SanDisk branded 24nm Toggle Mode flash chips, four on each side.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4578_12_sandisk_extreme_240gb_ssd_with_24nm_toggle_mode_flash_review.jpg

 

We suspect the 480GB model will populate all 16 flash slots. Till that arrives the high density 24nm chips will give us something to analyze.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4578_13_sandisk_extreme_240gb_ssd_with_24nm_toggle_mode_flash_review.jpg

 

The PCB is a SanDisk design and it looks a little different when compared to some of the other designs on the market. Most of the small surface mount components are located on one side of the PCB.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases