TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,135 Reviews & Articles | 39,420 News Posts

SteelSeries Kana Black 1.1 Gaming Mouse Review - Paperwork and Software

SteelSeries sent us a few new toys and today we look at the Kana Black 1.1, a mouse built by gamers for gamers.

| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Feb 21, 2012 3:11 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: SteelSeries

Paperwork and Software

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4564_15_steelseries_kana_black_1_1_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The paperwork is a black and white pamphlet with an image of the white 1.1 Kana on the front. Keep in mind this is just a quick start guide and most of the information about functionality can be found in the SteelSeries Engine software.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4564_16_steelseries_kana_black_1_1_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Opening up the guide shows the system requirements for functionality with the Kana and carries on into the software and where to get the SteelSeries Engine. Then at the bottom they tell you step by step how to get your Kana working with your PC.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4564_17_steelseries_kana_black_1_1_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Excuse the distortion in these images as the resizing really did a number on them. Here is the main page of the SteelSeries Engine software. Here you can select the device in the left column, select profiles or create them. The bulk of the screen is a look at the Kana mouse and the button layout.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4564_18_steelseries_kana_black_1_1_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

By clicking on any of the selectable buttons on the mouse, it opens the macro settings screen at the bottom. Here you can make the mouse do almost anything that doesn't require delayed timing in the macro combination.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4564_19_steelseries_kana_black_1_1_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Under the settings tab found across the top of the software's window, this is where you can personalize the on the fly CPI setting and the LED intensity behind the scroll wheel. This way at a glance, you can tell by the intensity of the lit scroll wheel which of the two profiles you are using. Of course one of the boxes needs to be less than 100% as in the image to be effective. The last bit is a controllable polling rate with the software that will allow you to gain an input lag free gaming experience.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4564_20_steelseries_kana_black_1_1_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

If I understood what I was doing here correctly, when I created macros and profiles on the previous pages, here is where I would go to set the profiles to auto load with the game EXE loading up the start of the game. This way you don't have to point and click every time you change a game or want to work at desktop level in an application with preset macros.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4564_21_steelseries_kana_black_1_1_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The last section of Statistics is more of a check to see if the Kana is functioning mixed with a benchmark to brag about the amount of clicks you can do and still get the timer stopped in eleven seconds. To be fair, I cheated and used two fingers on button one. As you can see it is also a built in checker to see that all of the switches are still functioning correctly.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases