TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,936 Reviews & Articles | 38,245 News Posts

LSI MegaRAID SAS 9265-8i RAID Controller Review - LSI MegaRAID 9265-8i

Usually a product has to be outdated and outperformed before it gets replaced, but not those in LSI's portfolio.

| RAID/HBA in Storage | Posted: Feb 16, 2012 6:32 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%      Manufacturer: LSI

LSI MegaRAID 9265-8i

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4561_05_lsi_9265_8i_megaraid_sas_raid_controller_review.jpg

 

We're not going to spend a whole lot of time today going on the packaging. Most, if not all, 9265-8i's will be sold over the net.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4561_06_lsi_9265_8i_megaraid_sas_raid_controller_review.jpg

 

LSI has information all over the box - front, back and sides.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4561_07_lsi_9265_8i_megaraid_sas_raid_controller_review.jpg

 

Everything is packaged well inside with the controller separate from the accessory package.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4561_08_lsi_9265_8i_megaraid_sas_raid_controller_review.jpg

 

Speaking of the accessory package, you get two cables, a low profile adapter bracket, several manuals and finally a software disk with drivers and more manuals.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4561_09_lsi_9265_8i_megaraid_sas_raid_controller_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the LSI 9265-8i controller. This is a passive cooled controller so you'll want some air flow going to the card. Our sample is currently sitting in an open case with a little breeze coming from a fan mounted around 8 inches away, but the smaller your enclosure, the more air you'll need.

 

The two SFF-8087 ports, each with four 6Gb/s lanes are at the front of the card. This is a little different than most of the controllers we see with the cables coming off the back. The design let's you use a shorter depth case, but you will be somewhat tight for space when using a 2U enclosure with a vertical PCIe stack.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4561_10_lsi_9265_8i_megaraid_sas_raid_controller_review.jpg

 

LSI covered the card with surface mount components; they are just about everywhere with very little surface left open.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4561_11_lsi_9265_8i_megaraid_sas_raid_controller_review.jpg

 

A daughter board holds the cache on the back of the card.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4561_12_lsi_9265_8i_megaraid_sas_raid_controller_review.jpg

 

Two brackets are included. We used the full height version, but 2U users can easily switch to the half-height bracket.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases