TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,157 Reviews & Articles | 39,565 News Posts

LSI MegaRAID SAS 9265-8i RAID Controller Review - LSI MegaRAID 9265-8i

Usually a product has to be outdated and outperformed before it gets replaced, but not those in LSI's portfolio.

| RAID/HBA in Storage | Posted: Feb 16, 2012 6:32 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: LSI

LSI MegaRAID 9265-8i

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4561_05_lsi_9265_8i_megaraid_sas_raid_controller_review.jpg

 

We're not going to spend a whole lot of time today going on the packaging. Most, if not all, 9265-8i's will be sold over the net.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4561_06_lsi_9265_8i_megaraid_sas_raid_controller_review.jpg

 

LSI has information all over the box - front, back and sides.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4561_07_lsi_9265_8i_megaraid_sas_raid_controller_review.jpg

 

Everything is packaged well inside with the controller separate from the accessory package.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4561_08_lsi_9265_8i_megaraid_sas_raid_controller_review.jpg

 

Speaking of the accessory package, you get two cables, a low profile adapter bracket, several manuals and finally a software disk with drivers and more manuals.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4561_09_lsi_9265_8i_megaraid_sas_raid_controller_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the LSI 9265-8i controller. This is a passive cooled controller so you'll want some air flow going to the card. Our sample is currently sitting in an open case with a little breeze coming from a fan mounted around 8 inches away, but the smaller your enclosure, the more air you'll need.

 

The two SFF-8087 ports, each with four 6Gb/s lanes are at the front of the card. This is a little different than most of the controllers we see with the cables coming off the back. The design let's you use a shorter depth case, but you will be somewhat tight for space when using a 2U enclosure with a vertical PCIe stack.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4561_10_lsi_9265_8i_megaraid_sas_raid_controller_review.jpg

 

LSI covered the card with surface mount components; they are just about everywhere with very little surface left open.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4561_11_lsi_9265_8i_megaraid_sas_raid_controller_review.jpg

 

A daughter board holds the cache on the back of the card.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4561_12_lsi_9265_8i_megaraid_sas_raid_controller_review.jpg

 

Two brackets are included. We used the full height version, but 2U users can easily switch to the half-height bracket.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases