TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,927 Reviews & Articles | 38,183 News Posts

Raidmax Viper Mid-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

It comes in red, white and black, has Euro tinting on the window and it's named Viper; it has to be a sports car! Or maybe not, it can also be the latest chassis from Raidmax!

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Feb 11, 2012 4:24 am
TweakTown Rating: 86%      Manufacturer: Raidmax

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4542_29_raidmax_viper_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

For instance, if there had been an image of the front panel removal, I might have seen that the front I/O was connected to the plastic bezel before I wired the chassis for the build. I don't know why I add the ODD last, but I am going to have to start changing my routine it seems.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4542_30_raidmax_viper_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I managed to wiggle the front panel enough to work in the DVD drive. It doesn't really matter much how the drive looks in here, as it will be covered by the door panel most of the time. It's just too bad case manufacturers make doors that don't open away from you on cases with windows in them.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4542_31_raidmax_viper_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Like I said; what DVD drive? Once the door is shut and the magnetic latches click together, the front of the chassis regains its original looks hiding the drives behind the flat black panel with the Raidmax name at the top of it.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4542_32_raidmax_viper_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The build went pretty well even though most of the wiring does have to stay inside of the main area from the PSU to the various components. The case won't accept long video cards, especially ones with power plugs at the end of the cards rather than the sides. The only thing I really found lacking was a secure place for my SSD, but I managed it with some Velcro in the floor of the 5.25" bays.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4542_33_raidmax_viper_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I wasn't really fond of the orange on black exterior with the light blue on black interior, but I do like the way the expansion slot covers make the three stripes around the two GPUs. Just something that looked cool to me is all.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4542_34_raidmax_viper_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As you can see, the area behind the tray is not capable of even running the 8-pin EPS back here. I did use the area next to the hard drive bays to the best of my ability to hide whatever wiring I could get into some sort of managed condition.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4542_35_raidmax_viper_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Powering up the Viper I first noticed the subtle blue glow that comes out of the venting in the Vipers neck. While I usually don't gravitate to cases with lots of LEDs, I like the effect this puts off with the Viper.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4542_36_raidmax_viper_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I changed the fan on my Enermax cooler to match the theme of this build. Through the bronzed window you can see it glowing above the blue LED fan they have mounted in the window to add cool air to the sides of the GPUs.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4542_37_raidmax_viper_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

This is going to be the last look at the Raidmax Viper in all of its powered up and bled LED lit glory. I just thought you might want to see it all together so you have this image in your head as I give the Viper its final once over in the final thoughts on the next page.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases