TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,212 Reviews & Articles | 40,207 News Posts

Enermax Fulmo GT Big Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Do you want a huge case that will fit almost anything you can think of? Have a look at the new Fulmo GT that Enermax has delivered!

| Other Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jan 23, 2012 8:57 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Enermax

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4518_29_enermax_fulmo_gt_big_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

To get a drive into the 5.25" bays you must first remove the bezel to gain access to the clip holding the bay cover in place. If you plan to use one of the lower bays you need to break out the metal supports. With all the wiring in the I/O the bezel, it is free to be removed and set out of the way.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4518_30_enermax_fulmo_gt_big_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Here is the Fulmo GT with the drive installed. I like that with the front being all mesh, the drive being in the bottom rack doesn't even detract from the sleek looks we saw earlier without the drive in place.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4518_31_enermax_fulmo_gt_big_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I did test the hard drive docks functionality. Once I removed the dust cover from the connections on the case, I slid the SSD into place with very little effort. Just a gently push will set the drive, and removing it is just as easy.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4518_32_enermax_fulmo_gt_big_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I know this isn't an SR-2 board, but I wanted to show users what the chassis looks like with even an E-ATX motherboard in place. I didn't rewire the front I/O cluster, but easily could have. Even with all of the main wiring behind the tray there is room to clean up this wiring to add big reservoirs... and look at the room above the board for a radiator!

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4518_33_enermax_fulmo_gt_big_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since I don't need two PSUs to power this system not much has changed back here. I will say that this is the first chassis I have had in a while I haven't had to force the rear panel in to get the expansion card screws back in - a cue to the structural integrity of this chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4518_34_enermax_fulmo_gt_big_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Wiring behind the tray doesn't even have to be clean, just route things where you need them to be and sort of flatten them. The room here allowed me to have this mess going on, and the door slid right over it all and closed as if the wiring wasn't even there.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4518_35_enermax_fulmo_gt_big_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Now we have the Fulmo GT all packaged up and the door is now wired to the control modules inside the chassis. For those who don't like the flood of LEDs, but still admire the chassis, it can look like this while running if you use the switch on the I/O to disable said LEDs.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4518_36_enermax_fulmo_gt_big_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With power applied to the Fulmo GT the front and left side come to life with an almost inaudible hum and the glow of the blue LEDs in them. These fans also have modes of the way the lighting is presented as well as just being on or off. Either way the Fulmo GT is a terrific looking solution that should play well with anyone's taste in cases.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases