TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,927 Reviews & Articles | 38,181 News Posts

Enermax Fulmo GT Big Tower Chassis Review - Inside the Enermax Fulmo GT Big Tower Chassis

Do you want a huge case that will fit almost anything you can think of? Have a look at the new Fulmo GT that Enermax has delivered!

| Other Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jan 23, 2012 8:57 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: Enermax

Inside the Enermax Fulmo GT Big Tower Chassis

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4518_15_enermax_fulmo_gt_big_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Inside the door is a pair of 180mm Vegas fans with blue LEDs. Typically these fans have a 3-pin for power and a switch attached for lighting. For use in the case, the switch is replaced with a 2-pin lead that connects to a header inside the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4518_16_enermax_fulmo_gt_big_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Our first look in the chassis shows the pair of access holes cut in the tray, the hardware box strapped to the bottom half of it, and the wires are neatly secured in the PSU strap at the bottom for transit. So far I am appreciating the attention to detail from Enermax.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4518_17_enermax_fulmo_gt_big_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The 5.25" drive bays have tool-less latches with a slide lock and pins that hold your drives and devices in place on this side. On the other side of the four bays, screws need to be used for securing things there.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4518_18_enermax_fulmo_gt_big_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Ten thick plastic drive trays are used below the optical drive to store your hard drives. Each tray is compatible for both 3.5" and 2.5" drives and has rubber grommets for anti-vibration measures. In front of these, there is another 180mm blue LED fan to cool them.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4518_19_enermax_fulmo_gt_big_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The motherboard tray offers mounting from mini-ITX all the way up to HPTX, and offers sixteen holes to manage wires and seven tie points in various locations. The case comes ready to install an HPTX board, but is also clearly denoted for all other form factors, too.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4518_20_enermax_fulmo_gt_big_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Here is where all the fans are speed and light controlled. The part on the left is the fan controller that is to control the speed and has 3-pin connections open for the door fans still. Same is said for the part on the right that uses the 2-pin connection to control the lighting features.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4518_21_enermax_fulmo_gt_big_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The 230mm fan that Enermax ships in the roof of the chassis just requires the 3-pin to be powered; there isn't any LED capability in this fan. Attaching it to the controller will still allow for speed control.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4518_22_enermax_fulmo_gt_big_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

And I just thought I would show the included 140mm fan in the rear of the Fulmo GT. It is also a 3-pin fan, has no LEDs, but has a really ugly wire I am going to hide under my motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4518_23_enermax_fulmo_gt_big_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

All of the connections I mentioned in the front I/O are all in this bundle, even a pair of native USB 3.0 connections to utilize all four ports on the I/O. For those that don't have two, or even one 20-pin header, there is an included adapter with this chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4518_24_enermax_fulmo_gt_big_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Behind the tray you can see that the thick bundle of wiring from the factory has no issues fitting here, and with a minimum of 30mm of room here, any and all wiring will be no issue to route back here and hide them.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases