TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,201 Reviews & Articles | 40,022 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Samsung wants the US government to block GeForce GPU shipments

Corsair Performance Series Pro 256GB Solid State Drive Review - The Corsair Performance Series Pro 256GB SSD

Corsair releases a new Performance Series part, but is the Pro fast enough to dethrone the Team SandForce drives?

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Jan 4, 2012 3:35 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: Corsair

The Corsair Performance Series Pro 256GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4504_06_corsair_performance_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the Corsair Performance Pro with its black label and brushed aluminum case. The drive shows the capacity on the front so you don't have to dig around to find the information if you have both a 128 and 256GB model on your desk.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4504_07_corsair_performance_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

There isn't anything special about the back of the drive other than the aluminum case. We've seen other manufactures move to plastic designs but not Corsair, at least not yet.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4504_08_corsair_performance_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

On the side we found the standard mounting holes where they should be. This will make it easy to install the drive in your notebook drive sled or a desktop adapter bracket.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4504_09_corsair_performance_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The drive offsets the SATA power and data connectors as it should and the drive sled does the same.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4504_10_corsair_performance_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The PCB design is a new one for us. We often see all of the flash positioned on one side of the drive with smaller capacity models, but the 256GB Performance Pro manages to do it as well. The Marvell 88SS9174-BKK2 controller is the only part on this side other than just a small amount of surface mount components.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4504_11_corsair_performance_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

This is the interesting side of the Performance Pro. Here we found eight Toshiba 3Xnm Toggle Flash chips and two 256MB DRAM chips that are used for cache and data positioning.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4504_12_corsair_performance_series_pro_256gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

We are still not 100% certain that this isn't 24nm Toshiba Toggle Flash, but everything (we were able to find) at this point leads us to believe its 3Xnm flash.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases