TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,156 Reviews & Articles | 39,560 News Posts

Cooler Master Cosmos II Ultra Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

The veil has been lifted and Cooler Master is allowing us to now bring you the long awaited Cosmos II!

| Other Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jan 3, 2012 1:56 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Cooler Master

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4501_41_cooler_master_cosmos_ii_ultra_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I slid the front panel down so you can actually see I did add a drive to the chassis. I really like the silence of the operation of this panel and covering all of that mess without a door that gets in the way, while being Raven-like, is the best solution.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4501_42_cooler_master_cosmos_ii_ultra_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Inside the Cosmos II swallowed up my ATX system and made it look tiny. I can't really find fault with any of the components or how they function. Every piece is solid, does its job and leaves a very good looking finished result.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4501_43_cooler_master_cosmos_ii_ultra_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

In the back, I need to address the PSU hole behind the adapter plate. I know snug is good, but I had to force the fan guard into the PSU a bit to allow this PSU to slide in as instructed. Just take your time here, as there isn't a lot of room to play with.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4501_44_cooler_master_cosmos_ii_ultra_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I took my time to go through all of the fan wires and connect what I could while rounding up the rest and keeping it out of my way next to the optical drives. Once I had that under control, I added all the lines from the PSU. I didn't do much tending at this point as the case offers the most room right where this bulk of my wiring runs.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4501_45_cooler_master_cosmos_ii_ultra_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With everything buttoned back up, the Cosmos II just needs some power so I can see what it sounds like and how well she keeps things cool inside as it's shipped.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4501_46_cooler_master_cosmos_ii_ultra_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once the unit had power, I slid the top cover back to turn it on and play with the fan controls. Each section of fans is individually controlled and can be set to three speeds. The HDD is set to high and is shown as red. The GPU is set to medium and is shown with a purple LED. The top and front fans are on low speed and that is shown with a blue LED. You can also turn the front fans LEDs on or off.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4501_47_cooler_master_cosmos_ii_ultra_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

When the Cosmos II is under power it is difficult to hear if it is actually on. From this angle the only way I could tell was the blue glow through the front grill and the lighting of the control panel in the previous image. All the way around, I don't think Cooler Master missed a thing when designing their new Ultra Tower chassis.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases