TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,137 Reviews & Articles | 39,429 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

GIGABYTE X79-UD5 (Intel X79) Motherboard Review - BIOS

We check out the sexy looking X79-UD5 from GIGABYTE and see if performance can match its looks.

| Socket LGA 2011 in Motherboards | Posted: Dec 30, 2011 9:30 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

BIOS

 

Moving into the BIOS, we've got the new 3D BIOS from GIGABYTE which looks amazing. We won't cover the "3D" side of it which lets you move around the board for the simple reason we need to take about 30 images. For an in-depth look at it, though, I recommend you jump over to our GIGABYTE G1.Assassin2 review where we've got two pages of BIOS images.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4498_18_gigabyte_x79_ud5_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

For now we'll jump into the more advanced section which feels very familiar with that M.I.T. area which is of course our one stop shop for everything overclocking related.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4498_19_gigabyte_x79_ud5_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4498_20_gigabyte_x79_ud5_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4498_21_gigabyte_x79_ud5_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4498_22_gigabyte_x79_ud5_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4498_23_gigabyte_x79_ud5_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4498_24_gigabyte_x79_ud5_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4498_25_gigabyte_x79_ud5_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4498_26_gigabyte_x79_ud5_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4498_27_gigabyte_x79_ud5_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

For the most part there are not any crazy surprises here as we've just got everything we'd expect to have. The M.I.T. section is ultimately pretty strong as you'd expect; hopefully it helps yield us a nice little overclock today.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4498_28_gigabyte_x79_ud5_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4498_29_gigabyte_x79_ud5_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4498_50_gigabyte_x79_ud5_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4498_51_gigabyte_x79_ud5_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4498_52_gigabyte_x79_ud5_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

Moving through the rest of the BIOS, we've got all the usual options on offer in relation to turning features on and off, BIOS features, saving profiles etc.. The GIGABYTE 3D BIOS is just ultimately a really nice BIOS and while it's taken them a little longer than others to jump on the graphical UEFI front, they've come out strong with the 3D BIOS offering.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases