TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,213 Reviews & Articles | 40,209 News Posts

GIGABYTE X79-UD5 (Intel X79) Motherboard Review

We check out the sexy looking X79-UD5 from GIGABYTE and see if performance can match its looks.

| Socket LGA 2011 in Motherboards | Posted: Dec 30, 2011 9:30 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

Introduction

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4498_02_gigabyte_x79_ud5_intel_x79_motherboard.jpg

 

It's been a massive year for me at TweakTown as I've seen my categories expand into the Motherboard and CPU area. And it fits so gloriously against the Video Card section I've managed for years. 224 Reviews later, though, and this wraps up my final piece for the year.

 

The X79-UD5 from GIGABYTE also marks the last of our X79 boards that we received at launch, bringing the total to 12 X79 motherboards since the launch of the new high end chipset from Intel. We've got more boards on the way, but they'll be slightly delayed. For now we'll be finishing our massive X79 motherboard run with the X79-UD5.

 

There's not much more that really needs to be said; we should all be pretty comfortable when it comes to knowing the new chipset from Intel, so let's just get stuck into the package of the board. Once we've done that we'll move onto the motherboard itself, jump into the fancy new 3D BIOS that GIGABYTE are using before we cover the overclocking side of things alongside the performance of course.

 

So with everything said and done, let's get ready to just get into it and see what GIGABYTE bring to the table with the brand new X79-UD5 with its awesome blue color scheme that we've grown to love.

 

 

The Package

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4498_03_gigabyte_x79_ud5_intel_x79_motherboard.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4498_04_gigabyte_x79_ud5_intel_x79_motherboard.jpg

 

Argh! White boxes. I hate white boxes, only because they're such a pain to take photos of against a white background. Still, the new box design looks nice and fresh. You can see going over it we've got a heap of detail in regards to the features, especially turning over where we have a picture of the board itself.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4498_05_gigabyte_x79_ud5_intel_x79_motherboard.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4498_06_gigabyte_x79_ud5_intel_x79_motherboard.jpg

 

Moving inside the box, we've got the normal line up of paperwork, couple of driver CDs, four SATA cables, I/O back plate along with two SLI connectors. One's a simple dual one, while the other is a 3-Way one and an extended CrossFire bridge.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4498_07_gigabyte_x79_ud5_intel_x79_motherboard.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4498_08_gigabyte_x79_ud5_intel_x79_motherboard.jpg

 

Along with that, we've also got the new WiFi card from GIGABYTE which brings not only WiFi, but support for Bluetooth 4.0, a technology that is being integrated on newer phones these days. Along with that we've also got a couple of antennas to help increase the range.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4498_09_gigabyte_x79_ud5_intel_x79_motherboard.jpg

 

Finally, we finish up with a USB 3.0 header that can be installed in the front of your case to give you two more USB 3.0 ports.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases