TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,155 Reviews & Articles | 39,554 News Posts

Danger Den Q20 Black Series "Shadow" Acrylic Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product - Continued

Danger Den delivered the Q20 acrylic chassis for us to review. And this time it's with water cooling!

| Other Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 29, 2011 5:48 am
TweakTown Rating: 87%Manufacturer: Danger Den

The Build and Finished Product - Continued

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4497_38_danger_den_q20_black_series_shadow_acrylic_chassis_review.jpg

 

Behind the motherboard tray there are countersunk holes drilled into the tray. The screws provided are pan head screws, but the countersink in the hole is enough so the screws won't rub on the clear cover we add here in a moment.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4497_39_danger_den_q20_black_series_shadow_acrylic_chassis_review.jpg

 

Looking at the back before we apply the clear panel shows that I did absolutely no wiring behind the tray, but it does leave something worth getting a look at.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4497_40_danger_den_q20_black_series_shadow_acrylic_chassis_review.jpg

 

Behind the tray to the outside edge of the chassis is only offset enough for the panel to be applied and screwed into place. As you can see, with this sort of design, it is still even attractive from the back.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4497_41_danger_den_q20_black_series_shadow_acrylic_chassis_review.jpg

 

Taking a look at the left side of the case before I install its clear covering you can see even with this loop installed there is plenty of room. I could easily see a tube res being installed onto the tray and helping to cover some of the wiring that is left exposed.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4497_42_danger_den_q20_black_series_shadow_acrylic_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the clear acrylic in place, you really wanted to be sure you have every last detail figured out, and is why I have the power cord already in. I wanted to be sure the PC would boot before I sealed the chassis with these last four screws.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4497_43_danger_den_q20_black_series_shadow_acrylic_chassis_review.jpg

 

In this image the Q20 and my rig is running full steam, but there are no LEDs or anything to aid you in knowing what is going on. While this case is for more advanced users, a LED postcode reader and LEDs on the board are very helpful in this chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4497_44_danger_den_q20_black_series_shadow_acrylic_chassis_review.jpg

 

I wanted to get one last angle from the top down to help accentuate the smoked acrylic pieces that came with my Q20, this case if set on a glass table could be viewed from any angle while still keeping the clear and black theme allowing my build to do all the showing off inside of this acrylic showcase!

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases