TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,012 Reviews & Articles | 38,781 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

Danger Den Q20 Black Series "Shadow" Acrylic Chassis Review - The Danger Den Q20 Assembly - Continued

Danger Den delivered the Q20 acrylic chassis for us to review. And this time it's with water cooling!

| Other Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 29, 2011 5:48 am
TweakTown Rating: 87%Manufacturer: Danger Den

The Danger Den Q20 Assembly - Continued

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4497_23_danger_den_q20_black_series_shadow_acrylic_chassis_review.jpg

 

Danger Den then says to install the pair of clear acrylic 5.25" bay mounting pieces into the Q20. Two screws near the front hold these into the frame of the chassis while leaving eight holes to fit a pair of 5.25" devices in this particular version of the Q20.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4497_24_danger_den_q20_black_series_shadow_acrylic_chassis_review.jpg

 

At this point we put on the front panel of the chassis. I left the removable cover with the film on it to help break up the outline. Of course later on this will be removed as well.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4497_25_danger_den_q20_black_series_shadow_acrylic_chassis_review.jpg

 

There isn't much left once we put the top of the chassis on. One thing I did find out here was one screw was too long and is why it isn't in the top yet. A few seconds with the Dremmel later, the screw is trimmed down enough to not bottom out in the acrylic.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4497_26_danger_den_q20_black_series_shadow_acrylic_chassis_review.jpg

 

We are getting very close to finished, and it is now time to add the wiring to the back of the power plug and install it to the back of this chassis. I do believe if you get the one 5.25" bay option, the power button is on the front. With my dual bay version, it's on the back.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4497_27_danger_den_q20_black_series_shadow_acrylic_chassis_review.jpg

 

Removing the pair of screws I used to keep the front of the case marked in the early stages is now replaced with a pair of riser to allow me to install the front I/O.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4497_28_danger_den_q20_black_series_shadow_acrylic_chassis_review.jpg

 

I learned while installing this that the radiator shroud we installed earlier needs to be removed to allow the I/O panel to slide into the front of the chassis and over the risers. Once screwed into place, the shroud can easily be repositioned back into the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4497_29_danger_den_q20_black_series_shadow_acrylic_chassis_review.jpg

 

You have to get pretty low to see the front I/O panel from outside of the chassis, and if you had plans to set this chassis on the floor, it's going to make usage a bit tougher. Keep in mind this is like a showcase for your hardware, and setting it on the floor rather than on a shelf next to angels singing as they point at your chassis is just a shameful thing to do. The Q20 is made to be a show stopper or head turner chassis.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases