TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,999 Reviews & Articles | 38,729 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Intel's Core i7-5960X CPU has already been overclocked to 6.2GHz

XClio Touch 320 Mid Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Since Kindles, tablets and phones went to touch technology, why not bring it to chassis design? Have a look at how XClio handled this task!

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 23, 2011 11:48 pm
TweakTown Rating: 88%      Manufacturer: XClio

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4492_29_xclio_touch_320_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Before I went anywhere I put about twenty minutes into regaining control of the case wiring. Now with everything routed cleanly, I know where everything is, so let's get this thing full of components!

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4492_30_xclio_touch_320_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I know the specs don't say that an E-ATX board is supported. Placing in my 990FXA-UD7, I found out the hard way why it isn't listed, but that doesn't in any way mean it doesn't "fit" in the Touch 320, it's just that you need to adjust the wiring a bit.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4492_31_xclio_touch_320_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Back outside of the chassis we are ready to take a spin around again and see what it looks like finished. The tool-less latch on the DVD drive does leave it recessed a bit past the mesh covers, but I would rather that than have it sticking out. Other than that the front of the chassis is relatively the same.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4492_32_xclio_touch_320_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The lack of 2.5" drive support made me get creative in the optical drive bays, but it left the bottom open and ready to allow the flow of air into the chassis to go unimpeded. The rest of the hardware, and yes even the oversized motherboard were no real issue for the Touch 320 to take on. There is even some room left over.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4492_33_xclio_touch_320_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The rear of the chassis is as we would expect to find it at this stage. All of the holes are filled with I/O plate, cards, and the PSU with the gasket between it and the case.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4492_34_xclio_touch_320_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I mentioned that some places only offer 15mm of room, while others are deeper, like the left edge of the motherboard tray, and the area next to the hard drive rack. Even so, with a bit of time and patience, wiring can be controlled and it still allows the side to slide right over it.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4492_35_xclio_touch_320_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Power up is a bit odd. The light you see in the case is my CPU cooler. As the panel lights up on the front booting the PC, there is a five second delay for the case fans to react.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4492_36_xclio_touch_320_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

When the fans do kick in, the blue ring of the high speed setting goes away. Even if you shut the case off in high speed, it always boots in low speed mode.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4492_37_xclio_touch_320_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

In low speed the case was audible from the three feet the tripod is away from the case, but once I touched the high speed fan button, it was "bring on the noise" loud! I have had many vacuum cleaner-like cases in my day, but this thing was louder, just know this isn't designed with silence in mind in any way.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4492_38_xclio_touch_320_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Look close, the fans are stopped, yet the blue LEDs continue to glow! I do like this option for those who want to sleep with this case in their room. You may like the glow, but being able to silence the chassis is a huge plus in my book.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4492_39_xclio_touch_320_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

This last image in the series shows all of the lights active now, including the ones at the bottom of the bezel, now lit, indicating the hard drives activity.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases