TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,932 Reviews & Articles | 38,217 News Posts

SilverStone Grandia Series GD06 HTPC Chassis Review - Inside the SilverStone Grandia Series GD06 HTPC Chassis

Sleek and sexy is synonymous with SilverStone. So let's have a look at how they incorporated it into the latest HTPC chassis, the Grandia GD06.

| HTPC Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 19, 2011 5:50 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: SilverStone

Inside the SilverStone Grandia Series GD06 HTPC Chassis

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4485_18_silverstone_grandia_series_gd06_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

Removing the three screws from the back of the chassis that hold the top panel in place allows you to slide it back an inch or so and then lift it out of the way. Inside of the chassis you find that some of the framing and the drive racks are blocking the way to get on with the installation.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4485_19_silverstone_grandia_series_gd06_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

A screw needs to be removed from both ends of the support rail to remove it from the chassis. The same is true for the optical drive rack, as it is held into the chassis with two screws into the support bar as well as a pair in the side of the bays found on the side of the chassis in the track the top panel rides in.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4485_20_silverstone_grandia_series_gd06_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

Removing the hard drive rack assembly was a bit trickier. Once I had the four screws that hold it into place removed; I still couldn't get this out of the chassis. That was until I realized that the latches on the bay cover doors were holding it attached to the front bezel.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4485_21_silverstone_grandia_series_gd06_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

Now we can actually see down into the chassis and look at the wiring from the fans and front I/O as well as the places around the floor to tie wiring to as you attempt to tidy things up to be sure everything fits back into the GD06.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4485_22_silverstone_grandia_series_gd06_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

The pair of 120mm fans on the right side of the chassis both ship with fan grills in place to keep wiring from getting eaten by the fans. Above the fans you can also see the two oval holes on bumps in the top of the chassis; this is where the optical drive bay screws need removed to get it out of the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4485_23_silverstone_grandia_series_gd06_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

Inside the rear of the chassis the expansion card slot covers are held in with small head screws, and are ventilated well if they stay in place to allow more places for the positive pressure inside the chassis to escape.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4485_24_silverstone_grandia_series_gd06_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

The left side of the chassis offers a fan to blow air into the chassis in front of the PSU. While I appreciate the thought to add the fan here, in my installation I blocked most of it with loose wiring. This is why the tie downs are offered on the floor to limit the intrusion on the airflow path through the chassis.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases