TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,251 Reviews & Articles | 40,806 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Sony teases PlayStation 5 could be a cloud-based console

ASRock X79 Extreme4 (Intel X79) Motherboard Review - BIOS

We look at our first ASRock X79 motherboard in the form of the brand new Extreme4. Let's find out what it's all about.

| Socket LGA 2011 in Motherboards | Posted: Dec 16, 2011 2:36 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: ASRock

BIOS

 

Getting into the BIOS, I found myself getting ready to type, "In typical ASRock fashion". You can see, though, if you've looked at previous ASRock UEFI BIOS versions you'll see we've got a nice fresh look from ASRock on the new X79 Extreme4 which looks fantastic. We've got a bit more color present, some fancy new logos; it's just a really nice improvement compared to the older one that while very good, did look quite bland.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4480_14_asrock_x79_extreme4_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4480_15_asrock_x79_extreme4_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4480_16_asrock_x79_extreme4_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4480_17_asrock_x79_extreme4_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

Of course, the overclocking side of things is all done in the "OC Tweaker" section and for the most part there's nothing too confusing going on. You'll probably want to head into the Voltage Configuration to do some fine tuning there, but for the most part there's nothing too crazy going on.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4480_18_asrock_x79_extreme4_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4480_20_asrock_x79_extreme4_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4480_21_asrock_x79_extreme4_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4480_22_asrock_x79_extreme4_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4480_23_asrock_x79_extreme4_intel_x79_motherboard.png

 

Moving through the rest of the BIOS, there's nothing too out of the ordinary and everything is fairly self-explanatory, so let's move onto the testbed side of things and also see just what we could do in the overclocking side of things from the BIOS.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases