TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,914 Reviews & Articles | 38,106 News Posts

Intel DX79SI (Intel X79) Motherboard Review - BIOS

We check out the launch X79 motherboard from Intel and let you know if it's one you should be looking at.

| Socket LGA 2011 in Motherboards | Posted: Dec 8, 2011 4:19 am
TweakTown Rating: 75%      Manufacturer: Intel

BIOS

 

Moving into the BIOS, I instantly find myself really unimpressed with what's on offer from Intel. If you go through the BIOS most of the options are there and looking at the "Performance" section, I love that the "Default" settings are for certain areas. It makes overclocking a little less stressful sometimes as you know what the starting point is instead of just the "Auto" option.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4464_17_intel_dx79si_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4464_18_intel_dx79si_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4464_20_intel_dx79si_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4464_21_intel_dx79si_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4464_22_intel_dx79si_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4464_23_intel_dx79si_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4464_24_intel_dx79si_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4464_25_intel_dx79si_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4464_26_intel_dx79si_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Memory options are also pretty good and setting the speed up or loading the XMP profiles is pretty easy.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4464_27_intel_dx79si_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4464_28_intel_dx79si_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4464_29_intel_dx79si_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4464_50_intel_dx79si_intel_x79_motherboard_review.jpg

 

The issue with the DX79SI BIOS is that we've become so spoilt with the look of this area in the past year. We've seen ASUS and ASRock offer really nice versions of the UEFI BIOS and we've seen GIGABYTE join the party in a big way offering us a really great looking BIOS that they've dubbed as the "3D BIOS".

 

Outside of the brightness these BIOS designs bring to us, the overclocking options are also much more substantial. The DX79SI BIOS isn't bad by any means; it's probably more it's just not up to the standard that we've become used to over the past 12 months.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases