TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,914 Reviews & Articles | 38,106 News Posts

XFX ProSeries 1000W Power Supply Review - Cabling Arrangement & A Look Inside

XFX adds more power to their ProSeries line of PSU's. We begin with a look at the new 1000W model and crank it up under full load in our test lab today.

| Other PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 7, 2011 3:44 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: XFXForce

Cabling Arrangement

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4462_19_xfx_proseries_1000w_power_supply_review.png

 

As you can tell from the cable summary, the ProSeries 1000W unit is fully modular. XFX includes a very comprehensive list of cables and connectors to cover you in just about any situation that you could come across. The only real complaint is that all three of the PCI-E cables are of the same length. XFX was smart enough to take care of this with the SATA and Molex cables as they have several different lengths, but not with the PCI-E cables. A few inches of variance in them would have been nice.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4462_20_xfx_proseries_1000w_power_supply_review.png

 

XFX keeps the rail distribution sweet and simple with a single 12V rail. This is the "EasyRail Technology" that they bombard you with on the front. It is just a marketing ploy to make you think it is something new when in reality it is something that we have been enjoying in high end power supplies for quite some time.

 

 

A Look Inside

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4462_21_xfx_proseries_1000w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Popping the top off the unit, we find that the fan is mounted a bit differently as it isn't attached to the top of the case.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4462_22_xfx_proseries_1000w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Once we pull the fan from the unit, we find that XFX has crammed quite a bit into the ProSeries 1000W unit. At least they have taken care to add heatsinks in numerous places to help cool the unit.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4462_23_xfx_proseries_1000w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

As part of taking this unit apart, we are actually able to see the bottom of the PCB. XFX has done a very good job of soldering here.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4462_24_xfx_proseries_1000w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Going deeper into the unit, we find the modular connectors. XFX makes note that the power supply uses their SolidLink technology in that the modular connectors are connected directly to the PCB. This is only partially true as the middle and top row of modular connectors are supplied power via a wire between the two PCB's.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4462_25_xfx_proseries_1000w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Taking a close look at the capacitors, we find a trio of Nippon Chemi-con caps on the primary side. This is something that we usually only see in power supplies greater than 1000W and that isn't necessarily guaranteed. Our best guess is that they used three slightly smaller caps instead of two because of space constraints between other components and the enclosure.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4462_26_xfx_proseries_1000w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Nippon Chemi-Con capacitors were present on the secondary side as well.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4462_27_xfx_proseries_1000w_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Cooling the 1000W ProSeries power supply is the Protechnic Magic MGA13512YF-O25 135mm fan.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases