TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,669 Reviews & Articles | 36,039 News Posts

Kingwin Stryker STR-500 500W Fanless Power Supply Review - Inside the Box

Kingwin's new fanless PSU proves to be silent, but deadly with the Stryker 500W.

| Other PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 25, 2011 2:12 am
TweakTown Rating: 88%      Manufacturer: Kingwin

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4439_08_kingwin_stryker_str_500_500w_fanless_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Kingwin does a good job of making sure the unit is well protected. On top of being wrapped in bubble wrap, the unit also has thick foam surrounding it on all sides except the front. In front of the unit are the native and modular cables as well as the power cable to give it some cushioning if it needs it.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4439_09_kingwin_stryker_str_500_500w_fanless_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Here we finally get our first good shot of the unit in person. It has a matte black finish on the bottom of the unit. We also find the I/O specification label placed here.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4439_10_kingwin_stryker_str_500_500w_fanless_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Flipping the unit over, we find the massive heatsink that keeps the STR-500 cool. Notice that there are also two holes in the heatsink that allows for more airflow and increased heat dissipation around those areas.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4439_11_kingwin_stryker_str_500_500w_fanless_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The back shows the typical honeycomb mesh grill that we are used to seeing combined with the AC input and on/off rocker switch.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4439_12_kingwin_stryker_str_500_500w_fanless_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Moving to the front, we see that the Stryker 500W is fully ventilated here. This is something you normally don't see as the goal is to control the exhaust out of the back. With the STR-500, the goal is to simply dissipate as much heat as possible and let the rest of the system deal with removing it from the case.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4439_13_kingwin_stryker_str_500_500w_fanless_power_supply_review.jpg

 

As we take a look at the sides of the units, we can see that we have a lot of venting here too.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4439_14_kingwin_stryker_str_500_500w_fanless_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Both sides are vented the same. Providing that your case has sufficient airflow, keeping the Kingwin Stryker 500W cool isn't going to be a problem.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4439_15_kingwin_stryker_str_500_500w_fanless_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Also included with the Stryker 500W is the user manual, four modular cables, the AC input cable and four thumb screws to mount the unit. It is a shame that these are not black to match the power supply.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below