TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,008 Reviews & Articles | 38,766 News Posts

GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2 (Intel X79) Motherboard Review - BIOS Continued

We check out the gaming focused G1.Assassin 2 from GIGABYTE and see how this new X79 offering performs.

| Socket LGA 2011 in Motherboards | Posted: Nov 15, 2011 5:38 am
TweakTown Rating: 97%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

BIOS

 

As good as the "3D BIOS" is, if you want to get down and dirty you'll probably want to hit the ESC button and get into the other side of the BIOS. Here we can see a BIOS layout that is similar to that of a lot of other companies who have jumped on the Graphical UEFI design. Of course, we've got the familiar M.I.T. area here which is where you'll no doubt want to be if you're overclocking.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_54_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_55_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_56_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_57_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_58_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_59_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_60_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_61_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_62_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_63_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_64_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

The M.I.T. layout is very familiar and if you've overclocked on GIGABYTE boards of past, you'll know your way around fairly easily. The options as always are strong and you can see a massive focus on Power Control thanks to the new "3D Power - 3Way Digital Power Engine" that the new X79 boards have implemented.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_65_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_66_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_67_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_68_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_69_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

Outside of the M.I.T. section, you're going to see no real big surprises across the board as you move across the other areas. Considering the amount of "Graphics" implemented in the BIOS, the BIOS runs fairly smooth - not as smooth as some of the others we've used, but for the first time we're seeing the new BIOS, GIGABYTE has done a fantastic job. They're definitely offering a lot more than a lot of other companies when it comes into the BIOS side of things. It's also really nice to finally show pictures of a GIGABYTE BIOS without the need to use my camera.

 

The new BIOS from GIGABYTE is ultimately just pretty cool and going through it and using it a bit, you don't feel that there needs to be some major overhaul with the design like we've seen from other companies with their first version.

 

That really covers the new BIOS from GIGABYTE in a fair bit of detail, so let's move onto the testbed side of things and see how we went with overclocking on the new board.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases