TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,157 Reviews & Articles | 39,563 News Posts

GIGABYTE G1.Assassin 2 (Intel X79) Motherboard Review - BIOS

We check out the gaming focused G1.Assassin 2 from GIGABYTE and see how this new X79 offering performs.

| Socket LGA 2011 in Motherboards | Posted: Nov 15, 2011 5:38 am
TweakTown Rating: 97%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

BIOS

 

GIGABYTE has finally made the jump to the new graphical UEFI design with the latest X79 platform and it looks absolutely fantastic. There are essentially two modes; the one you open up with which shows you a picture of the board alongside a more "Advanced" one. We say Advanced in brackets because the first one you're looking at still offers you pretty much all you'd expect. Looking through the images below, though, you'll see how it all works.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_20_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_21_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_22_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

As you move around the board, you select areas. In this case you can see we've selected "3D Power", above you can also see it gives a brief explanation on the area. Once we open that up we've got everything really related to the power side of things.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_23_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_24_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_25_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_26_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_27_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_28_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_29_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_50_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_51_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_52_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

You can see that we can just move over the board and configure different areas; everything from the SATA side of things to the I/O side which shows us all the integrated devices. It's really pretty cool in the sense if you go, 'ok, I want to disable onboard networking because I'm just going to use the WiFi card included', you just click on the I/O ports at the back of the board. Want to do overclocking? You go to the CPU area which gives us options for, well, "System Tuning" which can be seen above.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4419_53_gigabyte_g1_assassin_2_intel_x79_motherboard_review.png

 

In the bottom left corner you can also flip the board around in case you want to get a view from the other side or want to make sure that you don't miss selecting anything. This is literally only half of the BIOS, though.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases