TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,142 Reviews & Articles | 39,479 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Corsair Carbide Series 500R Arctic White Mid Tower Case Review - The Build and Finished Product

We saw what $100 got with the 400R, now let's see what a little more of an investment and a white paint scheme does for the Arctic White 500R from Corsair.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 10, 2011 3:40 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Corsair

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4408_29_corsair_carbide_series_500r_arctic_white_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

To make things easy with the internal wiring I chose to mount the drive in the lowest bay. In hindsight, I think it is better to install it at the top to keep the black plastic together allowing the continuation of the mesh to flow down the rest of the front rather that breaking it up as I did here.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4408_30_corsair_carbide_series_500r_arctic_white_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

Everything practically falls into place inside the 500R. Installing the optical and hard drives is tough only if you can't understand the principle of sliding something in until you hear a click. The management holes around the board allowed me to pass quite a few wires out the bottom, and their placement as you go up the side corresponds well to the motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4408_31_corsair_carbide_series_500r_arctic_white_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

For those wondering about the room above the motherboard, I measure mine and it seems there is 30mm of room from the top edge of the motherboard to the lowest bit of the steel top. There may be a few more millimeters of room, but you will soon run into issues with the memory if you go too far down.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4408_32_corsair_carbide_series_500r_arctic_white_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

The back of the chassis did everything I asked of it. The rear I/O plate was snug, but went in pretty easy. The expansion cards are easily mounted with thumbscrews, and the case is cut away to allow easier access with a screw driver. The PSU was just four screws, and that wasn't hard at all!

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4408_33_corsair_carbide_series_500r_arctic_white_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

I wasn't too particular with the wiring because honestly, with the 500R, you don't need to be. Now of course there is a bit of flow to get the wiring from one place to another, but I crossed all of the front I/O wiring with the 24-pin wiring, and the panel went right over it as if it wasn't even there.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4408_34_corsair_carbide_series_500r_arctic_white_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

With everything in place and the panels back on the 500R, the only thing left to do was power it up. As you can see looking at it head on, the 500R comes to life with the power indicator staying lit, the HDD activity light flickering just beneath it, and the glow of the white LEDs from the front tow intake fans behind the mesh.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4408_35_corsair_carbide_series_500r_arctic_white_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

Taking a step back so you can take it in from another angle you can now see the additional 200mm fan come to life with its white LEDs lit up now. This fan does a great job of supplying the graphics cards with fresh air while still allowing the red and blue glow of my CPU cooler lighting to shine over the top of it.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases