TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,984 Reviews & Articles | 38,652 News Posts

Evercool Transformer 3 CPU Cooler Review - The Evercool Transformer 3 CPU Cooler

Evercool has submitted a 160W contender to cool your processor. Come and have a look at the "cooling, shining, and silent" Transformer 3.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 7, 2011 2:04 pm
TweakTown Rating: 85%      Manufacturer: Evercool

The Evercool Transformer 3 CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4402_08_evercool_transformer_3_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Starting at the top with the six rounded, chrome caps to cover the pipe tips on top of the cooler, the fifty-four aluminum fins, the three 6mm diameter heat pipes, and the base that make up the construction of the Transformer 3.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4402_09_evercool_transformer_3_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

From the side we can see the pipes run really straight through the fins and aren't bent in any special way to make better use of the fin space provided. The sides of the fins are less enclosed for the outer edges of the fins to keep the spacing in line all the way across the cooler.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4402_10_evercool_transformer_3_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

There is a Transformer 3 plaque with a specially designed top fin with bends and shapes that fit the plaque. Around it you can see there is a slight chevron arrangement of the heat pipes that allows them to all get their own air flow and help direct the air through the cooler.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4402_11_evercool_transformer_3_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The base of the cooler comes shipped with Intel hardware mounted to it, so things are really easy for Intel users. For those who want to apply this to an AMD system, you will be using the pin at the top in conjunction with an old school AMD locking bracket. So keep in mind the orientation of your motherboard bracket, as Enermax only orients the one way.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4402_12_evercool_transformer_3_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

To remove the Intel hardware, you simply need to remove the eight Phillip's head screws and the legs will come off. To keep the base finish intact for shipping, there is a thick plastic sticker applied to protect it - make sure to remove this prior to installation.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4402_13_evercool_transformer_3_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The spaces filled with aluminum are much greater than the Xigmatek we just saw, and in theory shouldn't be able to transfer as much heat, as a lot of that heat will be dumped into the aluminum rather than the three copper pipes. The surface is flat, but again you will notice the thin gaps between the pipes and the aluminum base. I do wish someone had cleaned this a bit so the oxidation wasn't on the pipes before I even got to use it.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4402_14_evercool_transformer_3_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Jumping ahead and opening the hardware kit, I pulled out the rubber fan mounts that isolate the fan from the fins. These mounts simply slide into the groove in the cooler and await the fan. To secure the fan, just send the tips of the mounts through the fan holes and gently pull on the mounts until the fan is sitting behind the thicker part on the right half of the mounts.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4402_15_evercool_transformer_3_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Here we have the Transformer 3 with the fan installed and ready for business. Now all we have to do is mount it to the board and get the testing under way.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases