TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,668 Reviews & Articles | 36,034 News Posts

ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Professional (AMD 990FX) Motherboard Review - BIOS

We check out the Fatal1ty branded 990FX Professional board from ASRock and see what kind of performance it's able to offer us.

| Socket AM3/AM3+ in Motherboards | Posted: Nov 3, 2011 1:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: ASRock

BIOS

 

Getting into the BIOS as I normally do, we get freaked out by the fact that Fatal1ty is staring me down again. I then get disappointed by the fact that unlike the Z68 version of the board, I can't change the background. Honestly, this is a horrible, horrible BIOS image. The black one with just some Fatal1ty branding looks a whole lot better.

 

It actually bugged me so much that I messaged ASRock about it and they said that the latest version of the BIOS will carry the "UEFI Setup Style" just like the Z68 offering. If you're going to be in the BIOS a bit, you're going to appreciate the option to change.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4393_17_asrock_fatal1ty_990fx_professional_amd_990fx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4393_18_asrock_fatal1ty_990fx_professional_amd_990fx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4393_19_asrock_fatal1ty_990fx_professional_amd_990fx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4393_20_asrock_fatal1ty_990fx_professional_amd_990fx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4393_21_asrock_fatal1ty_990fx_professional_amd_990fx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4393_22_asrock_fatal1ty_990fx_professional_amd_990fx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4393_23_asrock_fatal1ty_990fx_professional_amd_990fx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4393_24_asrock_fatal1ty_990fx_professional_amd_990fx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4393_25_asrock_fatal1ty_990fx_professional_amd_990fx_motherboard_review.png

 

As for the actual BIOS layout, though, there's nothing we haven't seen from ASRock before and if you're going to want to do any overclocking you'll be spending most of your time in the "OC Tweaker" section which offers the typical manual overclocking options along with some auto speed bumps.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below