TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,198 Reviews & Articles | 40,006 News Posts

BitFenix Outlaw Mid Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Just when you think BitFenix is done with great ideas, they flip the idea of a case design on its head and offer the economically friendly Outlaw mid tower.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 3, 2011 3:06 am
TweakTown Rating: 87%Manufacturer: BitFenix

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4392_24_bitfenix_outlaw_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I tried to split the difference of the inset for the optical drive. I assume it is supposed to sit all the way in flush from side to side, but that really took from the smooth round curve that the Outlaw offers. I also did not apply the logo, as I prefer the sleek unbroken appearance.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4392_25_bitfenix_outlaw_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The access hole in the tray is rather large, but may not quite make it for every motherboard. Even though it does get slightly blocked from easy removal, there weren't any clearance issues with it to the tray. On the right side I was able to run the SATA cables, four power cables for the graphics cards, and even hid the bulk of the 24-pin wire in here. Even with all of this you can see there is plenty of room to even hide cabling from non-modular power supplies.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4392_26_bitfenix_outlaw_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

There aren't any issues that came to mind in the back of the chassis. The slot covers were simple to remove with a few twists, the rear I/o plate snapped right in, and with a bit of crafty metal persuasion, I was able to square things up to allow a perfect fit with the PSU.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4392_27_bitfenix_outlaw_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Something to think about as you align all of the hardware in the correct drive bays so they don't case conflicts against the motherboard. The optical drive I use is shorter, and even with this I ran into issues with the orientation of my SATA ports on the board. That brings graphics cards into play as well, you can see they can't be longer than the motherboard unless you are leaving the drive bays open in front of them.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4392_28_bitfenix_outlaw_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Aside from the close call with the optical drive, I really had not one issue getting everything installed into the Outlaw. As you can see with the inverted position of the 990FXA-UD7 the CPU cooler is at the bottom of the chassis and this puts the much hotter graphics cards up to the top of the chassis. Thermally this is a good idea, as with the cards under the CPU, convection allows the cards to heat the CPU too.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4392_29_bitfenix_outlaw_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

When I was trying to replace the door panel I did find that using screws in the first hole or at the front of the slot will not allow the tab behind the door to lock into the rail. Just something to keep in mind when choosing which holes to use when mounting drives in the 5.25" bays.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4392_30_bitfenix_outlaw_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the situation remedied and the panel now in place, the venting does allow you to see both the CPU cooler and the graphics cards. You of course have the option to install fans her if it fits your needs, but I like passive as well, just as venting.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4392_31_bitfenix_outlaw_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Powered up you are able to easily see the lighting of what is inside of the case. What surprised me a bi, is that even with just the one fan installed in the chassis, temperatures weren't getting out of control, nor were the fans running at full RPM. This bodes for even the almost passive cooling as it's shipped, does really well to allow the fans that are in use to easily get a supply of fresh air.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4392_32_bitfenix_outlaw_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

This last image was just taken to show the chassis with all the lighting active. For those who have issues against LEDs while you sleep, the top mounted LEDs will only blind you if you devised a way to sleep on the ceiling!

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases