TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,922 Reviews & Articles | 38,160 News Posts

Cooler Master Storm Trooper (SGC-5000-KKN1) Full Tower Case Review - Inside the Cooler Master Storm Trooper Full Tower Case

Cooler Master has recently lifted the embargo and it is our pleasure to bring you a full tower Storm series chassis with the CM Storm Trooper!

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 4, 2011 2:31 pm
TweakTown Rating: 97%      Manufacturer: Cooler Master

Inside the Cooler Master Storm Trooper Full Tower Case

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4327_17_cooler_master_storm_trooper_sgc_5000_kkn1_full_tower_case_review.jpg

 

Starting the deconstruction I went right to the top of the chassis first. I found once the top is removed you can see how beefy the handle and cross bracing is. At the top the front I/O panel is all mounted to the chassis and there are no wires to deal with. I removed the fan filter from the top to show the plentiful fan and mounting hole options. From what I can see, if you remove the 200mm fan, you can put two 120mm fans there, two 140mm, and a separate set for a dual 120mm radiator.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4327_18_cooler_master_storm_trooper_sgc_5000_kkn1_full_tower_case_review.jpg

 

With the panels removed we get our first look inside of the Trooper. There seems to be a bunch of wiring to deal with, and it looks like there is a box of hardware to be removed from the 5.25" bays. We will get to all of the finer details, I assure you, for now let's continue.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4327_19_cooler_master_storm_trooper_sgc_5000_kkn1_full_tower_case_review.jpg

 

Wire tied to the optical bays there is in fact a box of hardware I will open and show you in a bit. Noticeably gone from these bays are any sort of tool-free clips, but screws do offer a more solid installation for a case designed to be on the move. As shipped the chassis offers three 5.25" bays without changing anything.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4327_20_cooler_master_storm_trooper_sgc_5000_kkn1_full_tower_case_review.jpg

 

Below there are two cages that hold four hard drives each. From this angle we can view the removable support panel on the left, and the red LED fans screwed to this side of the hard drive cages. There is a large area under the cages, but that houses the surprise behind the CM Storm Logo on the front. Screwed to the floor is a five drive rack specifically for 2.5" drives.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4327_21_cooler_master_storm_trooper_sgc_5000_kkn1_full_tower_case_review.jpg

 

The motherboard tray offers twenty-one places to tie wires, six wire management holes, and a huge CPU cooler access hole to accommodate boards from m-ATX, ATX, and XL-ATX form factors. All of the holes are labeled alphabetically and follow the chart imprinted on the lower left corner of the tray.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4327_22_cooler_master_storm_trooper_sgc_5000_kkn1_full_tower_case_review.jpg

 

At left, the PSU sits on a pair of rubber strips and has plenty of ventilation to allow a fan down installation. I also wanted to point out just how large the wire management hole near the power supply is, this will allow for all the wiring you need to pass easily through here.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4327_23_cooler_master_storm_trooper_sgc_5000_kkn1_full_tower_case_review.jpg

 

The rear offers the 140mm exhaust fan which can be powered from a 3-pin connection, but also ships with a Molex adapter attached. The nine slots all have well ventilated covers held in with thumbscrews inside, while the +1 slot is accessed from outside.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4327_24_cooler_master_storm_trooper_sgc_5000_kkn1_full_tower_case_review.jpg

 

Getting to that secret the Aluminum plate was concealing, with it removed, you now are shown that there are two screws in a plate that need to be removed, and the contents will slide out of here.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4327_25_cooler_master_storm_trooper_sgc_5000_kkn1_full_tower_case_review.jpg

 

With the screws removed, the tray slid right out, and I saw there was a tab to open the top of said tray. Opening it reveals where Cooler Master has shipped most of the hardware which I will show in detail in that section.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases