TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,157 Reviews & Articles | 39,563 News Posts

Corsair Carbide Series 400R Mid Tower Case Review - The Build and Finished Product

Corsair claims that you get everything you need, and nothing you don't with its latest Carbide Series 400R mid tower for more budget minded builders. Let's see if this holds up today.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 28, 2011 5:12 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: Corsair

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4317_31_corsair_carbide_series_400r_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

Removing the front bezel just requires a tug at the bottom and it pops right off, with not wires attached so you can get it right out of the way. To install the optical drive, I had to remove the cover from the inside of the bezel and basically I snapped it back on and slid the drive in. You know it's in there right when you hear the click of the tool-less latch.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4317_32_corsair_carbide_series_400r_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

To simplify the wiring inside I dropped the optical drive to the middle of the chassis, and it sticks out like a sore thumb to me, as it really breaks the flow of the mesh down the front. Next time the drive goes in the top slot at least.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4317_33_corsair_carbide_series_400r_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

Inside of the chassis I was able to easily install the AXT Gigabyte and the SLI setup in the 400R. With most of the wiring fitting so nicely out of the way behind the motherboard tray, I figured I would just use the short cables to power the GPU's. The limitation here is 316mm, and longer expansion cards need to have power plugs on the side or issues plugging them in will pop up in the 400R.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4317_34_corsair_carbide_series_400r_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

The back of the case gets a touch of color from the rear I/o dust cover and we now have four DVI ports staring back at us, but I got to say, even the back of this case looks good!

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4317_35_corsair_carbide_series_400r_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

Behind the motherboard tray I put in very little effort to hide or really route anything in a particular manner. I took the necessary cables and ran them where they had to go to power the device, but I just sort of bunched things together and maybe out of the way, but I know there is a big cover yet to be applied with the door panel, so I am testing its abilities.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4317_36_corsair_carbide_series_400r_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

Without any fans in the left side panel you do get a bit of a look inside the case through the mesh, although a pair of clear, white LED fans would be a huge help to illuminating the view.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4317_37_corsair_carbide_series_400r_mid_tower_case_review.jpg

 

This is why I mentioned the white LED fans for the door; they would do really well as a match to the pair that are illuminated when the case is powered on. You do have the option to shut these fans lights off with a push of a button, so if the case is in your room, you will need only to contend with the backlit power button and the occasional flicker of the activity LED.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases