TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,677 Reviews & Articles | 36,085 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

SilverStone Temjin SST-TJ08-Evolution M-ATX Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product Continued

The TJ08 of yesteryear gets not only a facelift, but a complete rethinking of what makes for a successful Micro-ATX chassis. SilverStone has delivered the latest Evolution; come take a look!

| Other Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 26, 2011 4:59 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: SilverStone

The Build and Finished Product Continued

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4310_35_silverstone_temjin_sst_tj08_evolution_m_atx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Under that switch you could see a bit of something. That something is the removable dust filter in the front of the chassis. Mind you, it doesn't have to slide out to the right side; it has openings on both sides to gain access to this filter for easy cleaning.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4310_36_silverstone_temjin_sst_tj08_evolution_m_atx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the PSU installed and in the fan up position, I was wondering how the mesh in the top would align once the top was back on the chassis. I am pleased with the amount of access the 140mm fan in my PSU has to gulp cool air from outside of the chassis rather than heated air off of the GPU. Again, this is why SilverStone supplied a dust filter to the top that magnetically adheres to the TJ08-E, for easy cleaning and keeping the insides clean as long as possible.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4310_37_silverstone_temjin_sst_tj08_evolution_m_atx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Now that the top of the chassis is back on, I thought I should have one last look to show off the capabilities of what this chassis can hold. I can easily see a Hydro Series cooler going in these as well instead of the rear 120mm fan. Without the drive assembly in the case, you can easily do a single 120mm or 140mm radiator custom water cooling kit too.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4310_38_silverstone_temjin_sst_tj08_evolution_m_atx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Behind the scenes there is plenty of room. The large hole at the top allows the wires to easily pass from the PSU to anywhere else in the chassis. The multitude of tie points left me wanting nothing more for management, what is offered is plenty for my needs. I would also like to point out that my entire back plate for my cooler is visible and accessible, something even the larger case manufacturers can't get right.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4310_39_silverstone_temjin_sst_tj08_evolution_m_atx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Closing up the doors and getting our last trip around the outside underway, I find the chassis easily keeps its simple, almost sophisticated clean looks even with my scratched up DVD drive in there.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4310_40_silverstone_temjin_sst_tj08_evolution_m_atx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

In the back there is really nothing unusual to report. The rear I/O area is sized well and allows the plate to go in easily. Once the top is off, the PSU is a cinch to mount; even the expansion cards are pretty easy to take care of once this black cover here is removed. A nice touch to the chassis is the rubber washers on the thumbscrews. While it's been done before, it is usually overlooked as a mute point in sub-$10 cases.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4310_41_silverstone_temjin_sst_tj08_evolution_m_atx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Powered up, the only distraction you have it the solid blue LED you see now, and the occasional flicker of the HDD activity LED. While this image makes the LED appear bright, it is because I was at that perfect level to see it. If you are at any off angle the lights appear much dimmer, and shouldn't cause too much distraction in a living room or bedroom.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below