TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,252 Reviews & Articles | 40,828 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Sony teases PlayStation 5 could be a cloud-based console

SilverStone Temjin SST-TJ08-Evolution M-ATX Tower Chassis Review - Inside The SilverStone SST-TJ08-E Evolution Case

The TJ08 of yesteryear gets not only a facelift, but a complete rethinking of what makes for a successful Micro-ATX chassis. SilverStone has delivered the latest Evolution; come take a look!

| Other Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 26, 2011 4:59 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: SilverStone

Inside The SilverStone SST-TJ08-E Evolution Chassis

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4310_13_silverstone_temjin_sst_tj08_evolution_m_atx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the side panels finally removed you can get a good look at what I have been trying to explain with the interior layout. At first glance it is almost if they have just flipped a case on its head.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4310_14_silverstone_temjin_sst_tj08_evolution_m_atx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As we get closer, the motherboard tray has a lot to offer. A huge CPU cooler access hole is surrounded with wiring tie points and at the top, even offers ventilation for the cards up there. At the top is where the power supply goes, but we aren't getting it in from this angle.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4310_15_silverstone_temjin_sst_tj08_evolution_m_atx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Access to remove these screws is done on the outside of the chassis. The cover you saw on the back of the case has to be removed, and then you can remove these to install your expansion cards.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4310_16_silverstone_temjin_sst_tj08_evolution_m_atx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I know this might not make too much sense at this point in the review, but I wanted to show the CPU cooler support system SilverStone developed for this chassis. As shipped the adjustment screw is shipped lose so that it can rise up with ease. The top piece is fully adjustable and rubber padded so that it doesn't make noise or damage your air cooler. Once contact and support is made, you simply tighten the screw under the chassis to lock the support in place.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4310_17_silverstone_temjin_sst_tj08_evolution_m_atx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The hard drive assemblies are all removable. The top section can house up to four 3.5" hard drives. The inside of this rack is padded on both sides, again to keep vibrations to a minimum inside the chassis. Removing the two screws you see on the left side allows the top to come off, and then you are left with the single rack for a 3.5" floppy drive that also coves the holes in the floor where you mount the 2.5" drive.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4310_18_silverstone_temjin_sst_tj08_evolution_m_atx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

At the top of the left side is where the rack is that holds the 5.25" drives into place. I noticed once I did a bit of disassembly (marked by the arrow) someone overlooked a rivet placement. Without one here, the case didn't fall apart, but is noticeably wrong, as with it missing the case doesn't want to stay "together" in the unassembled state.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4310_19_silverstone_temjin_sst_tj08_evolution_m_atx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Spinning the TJ08-E around, I found three screws are what is holding the motherboard tray in place. There is one in the bottom with access through the round hole in the frame, one at the top right under the wire management hole, and one on the outside of the rear of the case. With this out of the way, this little case gets larger and larger inside.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases