TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,140 Reviews & Articles | 39,463 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Cooler Master NotePal X-Slim Notebook Cooler Review - The Cooler Master NotePal X-Slim

Another Cooler Master NotePal series cooling solution for notebooks arrives - this one a little more conservative compared to the U Stand.

| Notebook Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 16, 2011 6:36 am
TweakTown Rating: 86%Manufacturer: Cooler Master

The Cooler Master NotePal X-Slim

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4298_07_cooler_master_notepal_x_slim_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

Looking down at the top of the X-Slim, we see a lot of steel mesh in an X shape that has bends in the middle o help support 7" laptops. The mesh ends in a thick plastic frame and this is where most of the structure is derived, and also offers enough room for up to 17" notebooks. At the bottom you will find a black and chrome badge with the Cooler Master name.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4298_08_cooler_master_notepal_x_slim_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

Under the X-Slim, things are kept pretty basic. There are four rubber feet that sit on the base of the cooler. On top of these there is a pair of flip out feet that will add almost 19mm of height to the back. The 160mm fan is powered via the long USB cable that is set in the cable management track on the right side of the cooler. As you can see it can also go to the left.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4298_09_cooler_master_notepal_x_slim_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

On both sides you will find a pair of wire management hooks. Just as this cable is shipped, you could also use it for your mouse or cell phone cables. A couple of wraps around these and your wires can be kept tidy and out of the way.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4298_10_cooler_master_notepal_x_slim_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

If you do desire a better angle to write with while using the X-Slim, the flip out feet are handy to have, but somewhat dysfunctional in this instance. If you shift the cooler around at all on the table, the hang point for these are too weak and allowed mine to collapse when I moved the unit away from me.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4298_11_cooler_master_notepal_x_slim_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

Both sides are pretty plain, and don't offer any extra functionality, power switches, or LEDs. The design is made stepped back to allow for better airflow to the fan, but also to allow room to grab both the laptop and the cooler securely in the large gaps on both sides.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4298_12_cooler_master_notepal_x_slim_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

USB connectivity in the X-Slim is purely power related. The USB 2.0 pass through connection at least offers a replacement for the one USB port it is going to take up.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4298_13_cooler_master_notepal_x_slim_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

The user guide does go through step by step on how to get this cooler installed and cooling your laptop. I didn't really see a need for a manual really. I think we all know how to plug in a USB connection, and since it is the only wire we can do anything with, it's pretty self explanatory.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4298_14_cooler_master_notepal_x_slim_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

Once the 15" Lenovo laptop is set on top of the X-Slim, there isn't too much of it left to see. If you were using a 17" laptop, I assume there will be nothing of the X-Slim to see, yet you can reap the benefits.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4298_15_cooler_master_notepal_x_slim_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

Front he side we can see it leaves the Lenovo in a nice incline. I have found that since testing and using these coolers, I can't live without them for the long term. To me this angle is much better on my hands and wrists and offers me the ability to keep on typing for much longer intervals.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases