TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,069 Reviews & Articles | 38,989 News Posts

Lian Li PC-Q25 Mini-Q SFF Chassis Review - Inside the Lian Li PC-Q25 Mini-Q SFF Chassis

Lian Li dropped off the Mini-Q for us to see today. Come and take a look at what the PC-Q25 offers Mini-ITX and Mini-DTX users.

| Small Form Factor Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 14, 2011 5:22 pm
TweakTown Rating: 83%Manufacturer: Lian Li

Inside the Lian Li PC-Q25 Mini-Q SFF Chassis

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4294_13_lian_li_pc_q25_mini_q_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

With both panels off we can see inside of the Mini-Q. The first thing I noticed was it seems someone got a little overzealous with the hard drive rack, but nothing I can't bend back into shape. The hardware is in the white box strapped in here, while the fan and front panel wiring are free to move around with the absorbent paper.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4294_14_lian_li_pc_q25_mini_q_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

The slightly bent drive system holds up to five 3.5" drives and has a hot swap panel installed in the back of the cage to make life a little easier as you want to add more storage into this little aluminum box.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4294_15_lian_li_pc_q25_mini_q_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

The motherboard tray has little to offer outside of the four pre-installed risers. The 120mm fan above is set about ¾" above the top of the motherboard, so keep this in mind if you plan to use an aftermarket cooler.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4294_16_lian_li_pc_q25_mini_q_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

I removed the fan just to show you how easy it is to remove and replace for cleaning later on. It uses rubber grommets and screws much like we are used to with the hard drive systems in a Lian Li case. You simply slide them out, and to reinstall them, you get the rubber in the holes and slide it forward.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4294_17_lian_li_pc_q25_mini_q_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Inside the rear of the Pc-Q25, there isn't a whole lot going on since most of this will be taken up with the rear I/O, PSU, and expansion cards. You will notice the cards don't screw in on the inside, look back to the image of the rear of the case, it's all externally mounted.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4294_18_lian_li_pc_q25_mini_q_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Spinning the case around you can see the five hot swap drives are controlled with two panels. The top one has two Molex connections for powering the three drives and of course corresponding SATA connections. The bottom panel is laid out the same but uses only one Molex connection and offers two SATA ports.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4294_19_lian_li_pc_q25_mini_q_sff_chassis_review.jpg

 

Wiring is kept simple inside the Mini-Q! All there is to connect to the motherboard are these two headers for the power switch and power LED.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases