TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,012 Reviews & Articles | 38,778 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

Cooler Master NotePal U Stand Notebook Cooler Review - The Final Look & Testing Results

Cooler Master keeps the ideas rolling in for notebook cooling solutions and now offers up the U Stand - an ergonomically inclined cooler.

| Notebook Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 14, 2011 4:13 am
TweakTown Rating: 81%Manufacturer: Cooler Master

The Final Look & Testing Results

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4292_24_cooler_master_notepal_u_stand_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

I went ahead and installed the fans so that you get an idea of how they can easily get outside of the highlighted area. This will cause issues when closing the U Stand to a flat position. You can also see now how the wiring hooks work as they keep the fan wiring against the unit and not flopping around freely.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4292_25_cooler_master_notepal_u_stand_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

If you plan to use the cooler in the flatter angle, the front tabs don't have to be turned up to keep the Lenovo on the U Stand. The rubber strip across the top allowed the feet on the Lenovo to catch and hold it in place.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4292_26_cooler_master_notepal_u_stand_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

With the U Stand all the way up, you can now really get a feel for just how far it will raise the screen for easier viewing. Also, if you are using an additional keyboard, the angle of the one on your laptop is of little consequence.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4292_27_cooler_master_notepal_u_stand_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

The fans make much less noise than the stock cooling inside my Lenovo, so hearing the U Stand isn't going to happen for me. I do like that the LED light is on the side and not obnoxiously pointing in my face when in use. The LED only denotes that the unit has power, not that the fans are on!

 

 

Testing Results

 

With a 25.5°C ambient temperature, I went about testing the Lenovo with and without the NotePal U Stand. To monitor the temperatures I used Core Temp 0.99.7. To stress test I used Prime95 in "blend" mode for the first pass of tests. While I could leave the test to run longer, I find the twenty minutes or so it takes to get through the first seven tests is plenty of time to heat things up.

 

The idle or "low" temperature is obtained after turning the laptop off and rebooting, waiting ten minutes, and then I open Core Temp. I allow it to sit for just a couple minutes more to settle out at the lowest temperature. I then commence testing with Prime95 and once the first set of testing is complete I took a screen capture to show my results.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4292_28_cooler_master_notepal_u_stand_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

The Lenovo by itself came in a bit lower than usual, but the ambient for testing are a bit lower this time as well. You can see we reached a maximum testing temperature of seventy-four degrees in our control testing.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4292_29_cooler_master_notepal_u_stand_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

With the U Stand under the Lenovo and the fans powered up, I was able to rid the results of three degrees of heat in my Lenovo. The idle results have stayed the same over both tests as expected.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4292_30_cooler_master_notepal_u_stand_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

Since the unit is able to stand almost straight up, I figured I would see how this angle would affect the cooling. I was surprised to see that I was able to actually lower the idle results by three degrees, and we got the best overall loaded temperature result here as well with another degree dropped off!

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases