TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,669 Reviews & Articles | 36,040 News Posts

Sapphire Pure Platinum Z68 (Intel Z68) Motherboard Review - BIOS

Sapphire expands their motherboard line-up with the Pure Platinum Z68. Let's check it out and see what's happening.

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Sep 9, 2011 3:58 pm
TweakTown Rating: 79%      Manufacturer: Sapphire

BIOS

 

Getting into the BIOS, we've got the horrible American Megatrends version which I have to emphasize, is really horrible. I've never been a fan of it and it seems even worse since we've seen companies make a push for these graphical UEFI designs, even more so with companies like ASRock and MSI choosing to tweak the look of it lately.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4286_14_sapphire_pure_platinum_z68_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4286_15_sapphire_pure_platinum_z68_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4286_16_sapphire_pure_platinum_z68_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4286_17_sapphire_pure_platinum_z68_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4286_18_sapphire_pure_platinum_z68_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4286_19_sapphire_pure_platinum_z68_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4286_20_sapphire_pure_platinum_z68_intel_z68_motherboard_review.jpg

 

All the normal options are there and if you're going to overclock you'll be in the Performance section the most. While we continue to understand that Sapphire are still new to the higher performance motherboards, we're seeing more and more companies upgrade their UEFI interface and it doesn't seem that Sapphire are really moving in that direction.

 

Hopefully over time we'll see them work more and more on the BIOS side of things, because it's an important area when it comes to testing a board and it's indeed something that needs to be concentrated on a bit more.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below