TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,141 Reviews & Articles | 39,476 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Thermalright Shaman VGA Cooler Review - The Thermalright Shaman VGA Cooler

My first foray into Thermalright coolers and it just so happens to be the Shaman VGA cooler.

| Video Card Colers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 9, 2011 3:50 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Thermalright

The Thermalright Shaman VGA Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4283_07_thermalright_shaman_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

With all the packaging removed we can now get a look at the main part of the Shaman cooler, the base, pipes and fin array. It is hard to notice, but the left side of this cooler is sitting much lower than the right side and is the "compression" I mentioned earlier.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4283_08_thermalright_shaman_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

At this end of the cooler you can only see six of the 8mm nickel plated heat pipes on the Shaman, but this cooler is specified to have eight pipes isn't it?

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4283_09_thermalright_shaman_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

Looking at the pipes from another angle, you can now see the additional two heat pipes that are traveling inside of the bends of the outer six we just looked at.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4283_10_thermalright_shaman_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

From this side you can see the base of the cooler and how it is all constructed. The aluminum top plate and copper base keep a firm grip on the eight heat pipes and delivers heat to them before they make the journey into the fins. Also, you can now see just how severely this cooler is bent.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4283_11_thermalright_shaman_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

Looking through the fin array, the heat pipes are very evenly spaced across the width of the fins. There are a lot of pipes and fins going on here, which makes for a lot of surface area. With this much material in the Shaman, it seems to have good potential to cool a card just as it sits, passively.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4283_12_thermalright_shaman_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

On this end of the Shaman you can see Thermalright took time to make the ends of the heat pipes clean and attractive as they protrude past the last fin. The little holes on the outer edge match a set on the other side to allow for the wire fan mounts to be slid into.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4283_13_thermalright_shaman_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

The other end of the heat pipes don't get as much attention to detail, but are still cleanly done and out of sight.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4283_14_thermalright_shaman_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

The mounting ring around the base has options for four different hole patterns with various spacing. To protect the finely polished base, Thermalright covers it with a thick layer of plastic with a warning sticker on it, so you know to remove it before you actually install the cooler to the CPU.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4283_15_thermalright_shaman_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

The base is very level and finely finished before the nickel plating is applied. The combination of the attention to detail before the coating left a base that is just amazing to look at, but also offers great functionality in reducing the amount of thermal paste needed.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4283_16_thermalright_shaman_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

Before we move on to the hardware, I just wanted to show that with very little effort, I was able to "adjust" the Shaman into a more presentable and level starting point.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases