TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,143 Reviews & Articles | 39,488 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

ADATA S511 240GB Solid State Drive Review - The ADATA S511 240GB SSD

ADATA is now shipping their SandForce SF-2281 based drives. The new S511s are faster than the S501s and bring SATA III performance up to 550MB/s.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Sep 2, 2011 10:05 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: ADATA

The ADATA S511 240GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4267_06_adata_s511_240gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

If you own an S599 Series SSD from last year then you'll easily recognize the S511. The drive case is the same for both series. ADATA lists the capacity information on the front and the drive model number.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4267_07_adata_s511_240gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

The back of the drive is void of information, but we do see the standard mounting locations where they should be.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4267_08_adata_s511_240gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

The side mounting points are also where they should be.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4267_09_adata_s511_240gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

The drive has the SATA power and data connectors located where they should be. The desktop adapter bracket that is included with the S511 also offsets the SATA connectors, so you won't have any issues with installing the drive in your current system.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4267_10_adata_s511_240gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

Here we see the included accessory package in detail. You get a Quick Installation Guide, desktop adapter bracket and accompanying screws to get your drive installed.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4267_11_adata_s511_240gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

ADATA chose to use high quality Intel 25nm synchronous flash with the S511. This is the highest quality flash on the market today.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4267_12_adata_s511_240gb_solid_state_drive_review.jpg

 

There are sixteen NAND flash chips on the 240GB drive we're looking at today.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases