TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,077 Reviews & Articles | 39,027 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will offer first-person mode on foot, and in vehicles on PC

Corsair Dominator GT 1.5v PC3-17066 8GB Kit Review

Corsair releases a new kit into the Dominator GT line carrying with it a default voltage of just 1.5v. Let's check it out.

| DDR-3 Memory in RAM | Posted: Aug 30, 2011 10:15 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Corsair

TweakTown image content/4/2/4259_99_corsair_dominator_gt_1_5v_pc3_17066_8gb_kit_review.png

 

When it comes to the Corsair line of memory, the Dominator GT series would have to be one of the most stand out brands from the company with a representation of power and performance. The latest kit to come out from the flagship stable brings with it a default voltage of 1.5v.

 

To be honest, when I think of the Dominator GT series, 1.5v memory isn't the first thing that comes to mind. Instead it's super high speed kits or really aggressive timed ones. We'll get into more of the specifications in just a second, though. Let's first just look at what we're dealing with.

 

As you'd expect, the kit doesn't really hold any surprises when it comes to the looks department with that typical black and red color scheme going on. One side has the Corsair Dominator logo, while the other side offers us the details on the kit.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4259_03_corsair_dominator_gt_1_5v_pc3_17066_8gb_kit_review.jpg

 

This is where the kit stands out. While the kit might only require 1.5v to run at its default speed; that speed is 2133MHz DDR which is what's impressive considering the default voltage. As for the timings, they're a little relaxed at 9-11-9-27, but something else that really stands out is the fact that we're dealing with an 8GB kit here instead of a 4GB one which we normally see on these 1.5v kits.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4259_04_corsair_dominator_gt_1_5v_pc3_17066_8gb_kit_review.jpg

 

With the kit installed, we jumped into the BIOS to setup the modules and it came as no surprise that they got up and running at the default timings with no issue at all. You can see our CPU-Z validation here. Up and running in Windows, it was time to check out the performance we could get.

 

Under AIDA64 we ended up with Read / Write numbers of 20,851 MB/s / 18,191 MB/s, Copy speed of 22,022 MB/s and latency of 41.3ns.

 

At 2133MHz we have limited room to move when it comes to overclocking, so what we did was push our 2600k multiplier up to 52x which is what we use on our VGA testbed while just dropping the timings ever so slightly to 9-10-9-26 @ 1.65v. We also managed to move from 2T to 1T which is a nice little improvement to go along with the slightly decreased timings.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4259_02_corsair_dominator_gt_1_5v_pc3_17066_8gb_kit_review.jpg

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

In Windows at 2133MHz 9-10-9-26-1T with our CPU at 5.2GHz you can see the nice performance boost we get from the Corsair Dominator GT kit here in the screenshot below.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4259_06_corsair_dominator_gt_1_5v_pc3_17066_8gb_kit_review.png

 

Under AIDA64 we ended up with Read / Write numbers of 24,884 MB/s / 26,270 MB/s, Copy speed of 27,433 MB/s and latency of 36.0ns. Compared to our numbers with our CPU running at stock, this is a nice improvement in performance.

 

Initially I was a little worried about a Dominator GT kit coming with a low 1.5v rating, but all the little things around that makes this a kit well and truly worthy of the Dominator GT name. We've got a default clock speed of 2133MHz DDR and we're dealing with an 8GB kit here instead of a 4GB one.

 

This isn't the first time we've see low voltage kits, but if you're looking for one that's more performance orientated, this is an excellent option thanks to them being part of that much loved Dominator GT series.

 

The CMT8GX3M2A2133C9 is a really good all round kit that brings something new to the party for Corsair. The slightly relaxed timings are a small trade-off for the higher speed and low voltage on offer, but another real highlight to the kit is the fact it's an 8GB one. And to be honest, moving to 4GB isn't a trade-off you probably want to make, so it's great it's not one that has to be made here.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4259_05_corsair_dominator_gt_1_5v_pc3_17066_8gb_kit_review.jpg

 

All in all, this is just a really nice kit of RAM that brings something different to the Dominator GT lines and shows us that they don't have to always be faster than the previously released Dominator GT kit. Instead, this kit here today shows the Dominator GT performance over other companies who offer us 1.5v kits at lower speeds.

 

TweakTown image 4/2/4259_1234_corsair_dominator_gt_1_5v_pc3_17066_8gb_kit_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4259_999_corsair_dominator_gt_1_5v_pc3_17066_8gb_kit_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more RAM content at our RAM reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases