TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,135 Reviews & Articles | 39,420 News Posts

Corsair Hydro Series H80 High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler Review - The Corsair Hydro Series H80 Continued

Corsair may have just changed our minds. Come take a look at how the Hydro Series from Corsair has improved with the H80.

| CPU Liquid Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 5, 2011 2:26 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Corsair

The Corsair Hydro Series H80 Continued

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4228_15_corsair_hydro_series_h80_high_performance_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

That's ok; I always remove the TIM for testing anyways. One reason is that now I can use the same TIM on all coolers, but it also gives me the opportunity to offer you a look at the finish of the base. For those wondering, yes, the base is very flat across the entire surface, one of the flatter ones I have seen yet!

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4228_16_corsair_hydro_series_h80_high_performance_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Moving away from the head unit, we now get to look at the 38mm thick radiator. While the radiator is just larger that 120mm wide, you need to make sure you have the 152mm needed for the height of this radiator.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4228_17_corsair_hydro_series_h80_high_performance_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The tubing is also pressed over the aluminum fittings on this end. The plastic cover starts right at the end of the fitting and offers the most protection possible at this end.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4228_18_corsair_hydro_series_h80_high_performance_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Something I'm not used to seeing is that the sides are actually riveted to the radiator. It seems it might allow the fan mounting to have better spacing, but the paint used here is shiny, where the radiators are typically flatter in finish.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4228_19_corsair_hydro_series_h80_high_performance_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

In case you wondered, there is a product sticker on the unit to verify you have the right cooler. Although with all the features I have covered already, it should be pretty obvious if this is the cooler you intended to buy just at a glance.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4228_20_corsair_hydro_series_h80_high_performance_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I guess some people must have said the tubing was too long! With this unit I get 9.5" between the radiator and the head unit to allow for installation. I know it isn't much, but I liked the longer tubes of earlier models as they offered options outside the realm of "normal", where this unit it gets slightly more limited.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4228_21_corsair_hydro_series_h80_high_performance_liquid_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Jumping ahead, I mounted the fans. I really don't like the short fan power leads. Of that 9.5" we had of room, it is now less once the fans are connected. In a normal installation this is fine, but it makes the wires exposed, where I know most of us would like to hide these.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases