TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,252 Reviews & Articles | 40,834 News Posts

Zalman VF3000F Dual Turbine VGA Cooler Review - The Zalman VF3000F Dual Turbine VGA Cooler

It took me a bit, but I finally got around to asking Zalman for the VF3000F Dual Turbine VGA Cooler for my GTX 470. Stick around and see how well it does!

| Video Card Colers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 3, 2011 3:07 pm
TweakTown Rating: 85%Manufacturer: Zalman

The Zalman VF3000F Dual Turbine VGA Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4223_08_zalman_vf3000f_dual_turbine_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

With the plastic out of the way you can see the VF3000F with no interruptions. The brushed finish of the green shroud is very sleek looking and I like the automotive looking, etched name plate, almost like it belongs on a large chrome radiator. The pair of 92mm fans is slightly guarded, but you can still get a finger in the clear blades.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4223_09_zalman_vf3000f_dual_turbine_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

The center of the shroud is contoured in with six "fingers" that give the side its shape. The rest of the shroud continues past the fins a bit and actually locks under a lip of said fins. Also, the center of the fins is cut away more than the outsides on this cooler. This was done to make room for the heat pipes, but I will get a closer look in a bit.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4223_10_zalman_vf3000f_dual_turbine_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

The ends of the unit have what appear to be runs in the finish; I'm not exactly sure what is going on here. Of the five heat pipes of this cooler, you can see that only three exit this end of the cooler. The large screws will allow for the shroud to be removed, and these simply get screwed into holes in the first three or four fins.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4223_11_zalman_vf3000f_dual_turbine_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

On the opposing end, we see more of those "runs" in the finish, the same pair of screws, but this time only two pipes terminate in this end of the cooler. I also notice there is a bit of hot glue on the fin; I will have to investigate that.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4223_12_zalman_vf3000f_dual_turbine_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

The base and mounting system are all made of copper and for this specific model, i found only one of the holes on each corner was threaded. Make sure you follow the instruction to be sure, but that fact was an easy giveaway that I had the right holes.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4223_13_zalman_vf3000f_dual_turbine_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

The base is very flat and level across the bulk of the area. It is so finely polished that I am able to get you an image of Inception. Well, almost! I can see the idea went two layers deep, but I can't quite make out that third level. Anyways, it is like a mirror as you can obviously see.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4223_14_zalman_vf3000f_dual_turbine_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

Even though the mid section of fins is not as wide as those on both ends, certain "grooves" had to be cut from the larger fins to allow for the heat pipes as well. As the heat pipes leave this side of the base, they make a U-turn and terminate out the opposite side of the cooler.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases