TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,214 Reviews & Articles | 40,222 News Posts

Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme Plus II VGA Cooler Review - Installation and Finished Product Continued

Arctic Cooling has updated its Accelero Xtreme Plus with a new version. Let's see how well it can cool today's top end graphics cards.

| Video Card Colers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 1, 2011 2:42 pm
TweakTown Rating: 87%Manufacturer: Arctic Cooling

Installation and Finished Product Continued

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_34_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

Here is the card with all the heat sinks in place, ready to install the cooler to the card. Or so I thought!

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_35_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

Here was the issue I ran into. While the cooler comes with a new back plate and hardware for it, the way this all works is that the new VR003 plate is supposed to use the same hardware for this. On the original cooler, the screws were the same size, as the mounting plates were very similar at that time. I would just like to point out to make sure you get a kit with screws, and I hope AC reads this and adds them to the kits for future buyers.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_36_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

Just so you can see what I mean, the screw on the left is hardware I had on hand that fit the new mounting plate. The screw on the right is what the kit is shipped with to use with the new hardware.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_37_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

With the found hardware installed, I am now able to continue with showing you just how much the AC AXP II dwarfs this GTX 470.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_38_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

As it will be installed in a case, the cooler is going to need 288mm of room no matter the length of the card. The bit of flex on the right side of the card isn't due to mounting pressure, but rather the weight of the PCB itself.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_39_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

As you saw in the last image and here as well, the cooler clears the heat sinks with quite a bit of room to spare. As you can see, my dual slot bracket is suspended off the floor because this is a full 3 slots of cooler.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_41_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

Just to impress the fact that this is a 3 slot cooler, I thought I would show the end of the card I was speaking of before.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_42_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

Here is a top view of the card and cooler installed in the 600T SE for testing...

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_43_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

...and a look from the bottom just to make sure I covered all the angles.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases